We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Getting Everything You Want For Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Like Getting Everything You Want For Christmas”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We arrived Christmas Eve. Denise and Mitch had just set out the cannisters of cookies, a varied assortment of fine teas, and the ever present decanter of Sherry. Our lovely and spacious room was at the top of the stairs right off the common room adorned by the beautiful Christmas tree. And from there things only continued to improve. Mendocino offered us a Christmas of warm sunshine and bright blue skies, starry nights, and new friends. Christmas morning we took a delightful two hour tour of Mendocino with four other people from our Inn. Afterwards we spent hours walking the headlands and absorbing the ambience. Ending the day in our cozy room was simply an extension of all of the excellence we were offered by Mendocino. I must mention that every morning at the Inn begins with a breakfast tray ladened with deliciousness and accented by a delicate flower arrangement. The stuffed French Toast is Christmas morning at its best. The innkeepers have prepared every cozy and comfortable detail that a guest could wish for. And it's all there for us upon our arrival.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jubilodos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    53
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
377
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Headlands Inn Hideaway room was the perfect place for us while we were visiting our relatives. It was cozy and comfortable and in the evenings it was incredibly quiet. We could actually hear the surf a couple of miles away. The one drawback is the bed. It would really be wonderful if they upgraded the quality of the mattress. If they did I would give them a four stars instead of three.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetdreamsMendocino, Owner at Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
We’re glad that you found the Headlands Hideaway cozy and comfortable! Yes, listening to the surf at night can be mesmerizing and relaxing. And in regards to the bed, I’m going to “ditto” the management response to the review directly below. Again, we know that every guest have different needs, and if we could, we’d love to duplicate their beds they enjoy at home. I can’t help but think about Goldilocks when she stumbled upon a cottage belonging to Three Bears – one of their beds was too hard, one was too soft . . . but one was just right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I had a two night getaway to Mendocino and I chose The Headlands B & B because it was rated #1 by Trip Advisor. I picked "Annie's Room" because that was the name of our dog which we just had to put down 3 months ago. It turns out the room is named after a dog who belonged to a previous owner there. The room is on the bottom floor and is decorated beautifully with green and pink. The bed was like a mound, however, and you sort of rolled to the edges because of it. It bothered my back.
Since this is a house from the early 1900's our ceiling was the floor of the people above us. They were very restless and must have been moving luggage around, or something. We had a lovely day with a tour of Mendocino, a walk at the Headlands, an early dinner at the Cliff House in Fort Bragg, and we had strolled around Mendocino in the evening and went into the bookstore. Back at the room we showered and were really ready for a good night of sleep. The people above us kept us awake for 4 hours tromping back and forth in their room. It was so annoying.
So I think if you stay in an upper room it would be quieter, but I can't vouch for the comfort of the beds.
The breakfast was yummy but they bring it to your room because there is no dining room. We were very cramped sitting at our tiny table with our breakfast tray. They give you eggs in a little quiche dish, fruit in a little fruit dish, breads in a bread basket, and fruit juices and coffee. It covers all the food groups and is very filling.
The small parlor is upstairs where they leave the hot water, teas, cocoa, and cookies between 4-7p.m.. The Christmas tree was very pretty.
Check if the Kelly House Museum is offering a walking tour of the town: It is 1 hour and 45 minutes for $10.00 per person, and is VERY interesting to hear how the town was built and who were the prominent characters who settled there originally. It gives you great insight into the town and its history!
The Headlands Inn house was originally on Main street and was moved on rolling tree logs with horses because the owners wanted a quieter location! The location of the Headlands Inn is great because it is just a couple of blocks to walk to Main Street and to access the trails around the headlands. We went whale watching and saw many whale spouts at the Headlands State Park which you can walk to just off the edge of town.

Room Tip: Higher floors would probably be quieter. The bathroom is decorated so perfect with a pedestal basin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetdreamsMendocino, Owner at Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We’re happy that you found some enjoyment discovering some fun history facts about Headlands Inn and Mendocino! You and your husband seemed to enjoy your stay with no mention of the neighbors above or of the bed being uncomfortable – so sorry to hear about it this way! We’re here to serve our guests to ensure a wonderful stay with us, and in hopes that they will let us know if there’s anything we can do to help! As mentioned on our website, and in previous Tripadvisor responses, we have feather beds. Non-feathers are optional upon request, because we know that every guest have different needs. I guess we can’t satisfy everyone . . . but we sure do work hard trying!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a much needed getaway this weekend in the quant town of Mendocino in the North Coast of CA. The Headlands B&B was a great choice. Friendly staff welcomed us on our arrival with a tour of the beautiful home and showed us all of the places to eat and stroll around the town on a map he gave us. We stayed in the cottage - a separate building in the back that has a fireplace and jacuzzi spa. The room was spacious and comfortable with a canopy bed covered in pillows and a soft sofa for two sitting in front of a wood burning fireplace that was all set to go with the touch of a match. The bathroom was clean and spacious as well with a large spa tub. Breakfast was wonderful - hot coffee or tea, muffins, a warm fruit cobbler with yogurt and granola and a delicious Mexican style egg dish. All served in our room by a friendly staff member. Highly recommended for a weekend getaway.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SDBMWLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Cozy, comfy B&B with wonderful helpful hosts located a block off the Main Street of the quaint small town of Mendocino, so we could walk to everything.....the cliffs overlooking the ocean, restaurants, stores. What made the Headlands Inn truly unique is that they bring your breakfast to your room!! They just knock once and leave it outside your door. Nice table in our room to have breakfast (in our pjs!) looking out over the lovely front yard. And the breakfasts are delicious! We stayed 3 nights and each breakfast was unique and delicious.We stay at a lot of B&Bs, but never got our breakfast in our room....I wish all B&Bs did that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judychicagoillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Staying at The Headlands Inn is what the Mendocino Get-a-way is all about. We love this B&B and we only stay here when we visit Mendocino. We have come to this conclusion over the past 30 years after staying at other accommodations that just don't hold a candle to The Headlands Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindaerskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Cute, charming, clean and cozy B&B with amazing breakfast. Centrally located; walking distance to great restaurants and shops. We were looking forward to getting up and having breakfast in bed.

Absolutely recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 25 in Mendocino
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Hotel Mendocino
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing