We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B in a Quaint Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great B&B in a Quaint Town”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a much needed getaway this weekend in the quant town of Mendocino in the North Coast of CA. The Headlands B&B was a great choice. Friendly staff welcomed us on our arrival with a tour of the beautiful home and showed us all of the places to eat and stroll around the town on a map he gave us. We stayed in the cottage - a separate building in the back that has a fireplace and jacuzzi spa. The room was spacious and comfortable with a canopy bed covered in pillows and a soft sofa for two sitting in front of a wood burning fireplace that was all set to go with the touch of a match. The bathroom was clean and spacious as well with a large spa tub. Breakfast was wonderful - hot coffee or tea, muffins, a warm fruit cobbler with yogurt and granola and a delicious Mexican style egg dish. All served in our room by a friendly staff member. Highly recommended for a weekend getaway.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SDBMWLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    53
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
375
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Cozy, comfy B&B with wonderful helpful hosts located a block off the Main Street of the quaint small town of Mendocino, so we could walk to everything.....the cliffs overlooking the ocean, restaurants, stores. What made the Headlands Inn truly unique is that they bring your breakfast to your room!! They just knock once and leave it outside your door. Nice table in our room to have breakfast (in our pjs!) looking out over the lovely front yard. And the breakfasts are delicious! We stayed 3 nights and each breakfast was unique and delicious.We stay at a lot of B&Bs, but never got our breakfast in our room....I wish all B&Bs did that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judychicagoillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Staying at The Headlands Inn is what the Mendocino Get-a-way is all about. We love this B&B and we only stay here when we visit Mendocino. We have come to this conclusion over the past 30 years after staying at other accommodations that just don't hold a candle to The Headlands Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindaerskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Cute, charming, clean and cozy B&B with amazing breakfast. Centrally located; walking distance to great restaurants and shops. We were looking forward to getting up and having breakfast in bed.

Absolutely recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great place to stay. We had a spacious cottage with a very comfortable bed, a sitting area with fireplace, and a beautiful bathroom with a two person jacuzzi tub. Breakfast delivered to the room each morning and left just outside the door - and each morning it was a real treat. Absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calif_Vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Two couples, we arrived in Mendocino after dark, tired and no arrangements made for where we'd sleep that night. We drove past Headlands Inn and saw the word "vacancy", and were lucky enough to be offered the final two rooms available. Denise was brisk and efficient with our check in, confirming our breakfast requests then suggesting we may wish to have a sherry in the upstairs lounge before heading out to dinner. Headlands Inn is centrally located, making it easy to browse through town and find a restaurant. We returned to our room and lit the fireplace before snuggling into bed for the night.
Breakfast was served to our room the next morning, and was delicious. We enjoyed a chat with Mitch on the history of Mendocino before packing up and saying our thanks for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We just spent two nights there, and were very pleased. It is such a comfortable place and the food that they prepare every morning is just marvelous. If you stay multiple days, Denise takes care to ensure you have a different breakfast every day. We stayed in "Annie's Room", which is a small room in the back on the 1st floor. It was just fine for 2 people, and the mattress is excellent!
Oh - and the location is great and the cost was very reasonable as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTRoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Hotel Mendocino
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing