We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite bed and breakfast, anywhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite bed and breakfast, anywhere!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have stayed at Headlands Inn several times over the last 30 years. We honeymooned there, and our most recent trip to Mendocino to celebrate our anniversary confirmed Headlands Inn as our favorite bed and breakfast.

Every morning we looked forward to waking to coffee just outside our door, with a wonderful breakfast arriving soon after. Whether it was their fabulous french toast and sausage, their artichoke frittata, or their fresh fruit presentation, Mitch and Denise got our day off to a great start. And then there's the fresh-baked cookies at 4PM.

Our favorite room is the John Barry room, with two views of the ocean and town. But we have stayed in other rooms as well as in the separate cottage, and they are all cozy, beautifully decorated and comfortable. The individual fireplaces in most rooms are another nice touch on a cool evening.

I can't imagine a better place to stay in Mendocino, or better hosts than Denise and Mitch. We will return as often as we are able.

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing two flights of stairs, the John Barry room has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    53
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
377
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

From the greeting by Denise (or Mitch) and your fist steps on the deep soft carpet you know you're in one of the best places on Earth. Very comfortable bed in a lovely room with bay windows. Breakfast, delivered to room, was of a very high quality and great to eat with a real fire warming us up. Tea and cookies at 4 keeps you going until to find yourself at one of the restaurants in Mendocino. The town is great to explore on foot, with many interesting shops and cafes, Its even only a short walk out to the ocean. Came back with lovely memories and some very nice art to hang on the wall at home. Wish we could give it 10 out of 5.

Room Tip: Bessie Strauss suite is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were only able to spend one night in Mendocino, but we picked a great place. Denise and Mitch run a superb B&B and when we return in the future we will be sure to return.

We were in the Barry room on the third floor. It's a beautiful room looking out the front of the building with a partial view of the ocean. Feather bed, a couple stuffed chairs, a window seat, and a small refrigerator. The wood-burning fireplace came already set up with a couple logs, kindling, and fire-starter. Denise served a wonderful quiche at 9am with fresh fruit, fresh-baked muffins, juice, and coffee. Great presentation, too, on vintage china with fresh flowers and a copy of the San Francisco Examiner.

Awesome place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBKFamilyOfFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Headlands Inn for her birthday weekend and we couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. This is a lovely Bed & Breakfast right in the center of town within wlking distance to anywhere in town. Our room,the Switzer was located on the third floor with a very comfy king size feather bed, two window seats (one with a partial ocean view) and a wood burning fireplace. A delicious breakfast was served in our room each morning between 8:30 and 9:00. On the second morning we had a cream cheese stuffed french toast that was absolutely to die for.The owners Mitch and Denise make every attempt to make your stay an enjoyable one. I highly recommend The Headlands Inn to anyone looking for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steveo145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was an amazing experience. I wasn't sure about doing B & B's down the coast, but I'm so glad I did. We reserved the "cottage" and it was nothing less than amazing. We enjoyed the roaring fire every night, the privacy and the hosts were wonderful. They respected us and our privacy like no other. The breakfast was also amazing. The attention to detail was outstanding. I would highly recommend this place to couples who want a romantic adventure. Stunning! Also, you can walk everywhere from the Headlands.

Room Tip: I would not rent the cottage with children. It is not appropriate for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here August 19, 2013 on our two week trip to the Northwest. We arrived late and tea time was almost finished, but there was still hot tea and sherry . It was really pleasant after a long drive from Napa. Our charming room on the second floor opened onto the parlor. What a charming room with feather bed and fire place. Breakfast in the morning was in our room. It was a nice way to start the morning. The innkeepers were nice enough to bring us early coffee. They offered us hints on our drive up the California Coast. Loved it here.

Room Tip: It's a small inn. All the rooms are good, but there is one by the entrance that might have noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugTampaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you want to experience a bed and breakfast as it is supposed to be at its very finest, book a night or two at Headlands Inn in Mendocino. I enjoyed being in the room as much as strolling around the adorable town and the lovely beach. The breakfast was picturesque as well as tasty and filling. Each room has its unique features but there are no bad rooms. There are at least five decks and patios that I counted, each with comfortable Adirondack chairs and potted flowers. The flowers in Mendocino are worth the trip themselves. The place just oozes colorful gardens and little floral surprises in every nook and cranny. I took hundreds of photos because the place is stunning. We ate at a restaurant with the number 1995 in it where I ate the best lamb stew I had ever eaten--including all over Ireland. WONDERFUL! Also the Mendocino Cafe has great food.

Room Tip: I didn't see the third floor rooms, but the rooms on the first and second floor were spacious an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 25 in Mendocino
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Hotel Mendocino
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing