We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay, delicious in-room breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect stay, delicious in-room breakfast!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We had a perfect stay at the Headlands Inn b&b in Mendocino (unfortunately just 1 night). The inn is very very nice, accurately restored in an English-style manner. The owners are very kind and attentive. We enjoyed a superb breakfast served in room, which was very pleasant since the room we were in has a table just in front of the window looking to the beautiful garden. Everything was so delicious that we finished it all even if there were lots of things to eat (a sweet cream with muesli and fruits; a soufflé and different muffins).
Everything was perfect, I wish I could have staid one more day!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra_G73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    53
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
377
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I chose Headlands based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the John Barry room for two nights and enjoyed the in-room fireplace during a cool, foggy period. The adorable village of Mendocino is fun to walk around and there is so much to do in the surrounding area. We hiked the Fern Canyon to the Pygmee Forest (about 8 miles RT); beautiful forest and such solitude. The first morning our breakfast consisted of a peach-stuffed french toast, sausage, juice, and coffee. It was delicious! Second morning was a artichoke omelet with a side of fruit. You will not go hungry. They offer tea with cookies in the afternoon as well. When we checked out, I accidentally left all my clothes hanging in the closet. Before we had even reached our next destination, I had a call from Kelly saying they would put my items in the mail (at no cost to me). I received everything today, which prompted me to write this very positive review of this delightful B &B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovnCO61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Headlands Inn has been a wonderful getaway for my husband and me on the weekends that we spend in Mendocino.
We stay in Casper's Cottage, which is completely removed from the main house, but connected by either a walkway through, or just walking around the cottage to reach the front door. This gives a lot of privacy, which is great for romantic vacations. The cottage has a lovely four-poster bed, a fireplace that always has plenty of wood for a warm crackling fire each night. There is a couch that is very comfortable for reading in front of the fire or relaxing with a movie. The bathroom is large with a shower-tub that is a perfect size, plus it has jets! :) Big plus after being out in the cold weather in early spring.
The hospitality of the innkeepers is exceptional. When you check in, they are very detailed. My husband is vegetarian and very allergic to nuts. The innkeeper verified that she had the information correct, which was very nice.
Breakfast is delivered to the cottage. I'm not sure about the other rooms. YUMMY!!! There is an egg dish that is served with a sliced tomato and roasted sunflower seeds with breadcrumbs and seasonings on top, and that is our favorite breakfast. We have also had peach blueberry french toast that is scrumptious. Fresh-baked muffins and pastries accompany breakfast. We also had tea and cookies delivered to our cottage every evening. What a welcome treat before going out to dinner!
I cannot recommend this B&B enough! Headlands Inn is hands-down the best retreat in Mendocino!

Room Tip: The casper cottage, while more expensive than the other rooms, is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I am writing this in behalf of my daughter and her new husband. They had two days after their wedding for a quick get-a-way and when she suggested Mendocino to me, I thought, PERFECT! I went on Tripadvisor, as I often do, for suggestions and when I read the reviews and looked at the photos (especially of the breakfasts!), I thought...BINGO!

From my first conversation with the really wonderful woman who answered the phone (I am so sorry, I forgot your name!!...I want to say Renee...Is that right?), to their actually two blissful days, it was PERFECT! They came home with great tales of fabulous food, great room, wonderful service and perfect weather. What a relaxing couple days they had. Now I am excited about going there myself, with my husband. Thank you so much from a happy Mom!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeksocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Well, they outdo themselves here! Flowers in the entry, guest rooms, granola & fruit bowls! We had a room with a fireplace & the back deck. We enjoyed our breakfast outside the second morning, which was a treat! Bathroom is tiny, but otherwise no complaints! Friendly service & DELICIOUS breakfasts! Ask for the recipes!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auntgretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great location, hospitality, & breakfast. We stayed in the cottage. Spatious modern bathroom, working fireplace in the living room, feathertop mattress, private entrance, could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great place to stay! It was such a relaxing stay with wonderful food and service! The owners were so helpful and friendly and there are many added touches that make the experience unique and special. It is a great place for a relaxing get-a-way and was fun to hike and stroll through town.

Room Tip: Next time we will ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 25 in Mendocino
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Hotel Mendocino
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing