We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect hideaway unreservedly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Petite Maison

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Petite Maison
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect hideaway unreservedly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

We had four nights here at the end of a trip involving New York and San Francisco, and it was a perfect contrast to the cities. Mendocino itself is incredibly pretty and scenic, and La Petite Maison is a gorgeous, comfortable hideaway in a fantastic location amid the redwoods, minutes from Mendocino and multiple state parks and beaches. Spacious for us as a couple with a young baby, all the domestic facilities you need, amazingly comfy bed with skylights to see the stars (our baby rose earlier than the sun, so the light issue wasn’t a problem for us!). Mary was a wonderful hostess – generous and helpful and full of local advice. Loved the little things like fresh coffee beans, and the fact that I counted 8 separate places inside and outside the cottage to sit and daydream! We couldn’t recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eden29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

We booked a stay at La Petite Maison for a weekend getaway, and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. The cottage is charming and cozy, very clean, and in a terrific location only a few minutes from the village of Mendocino. Set in the woods along Big River, this lovely hideaway has complete privacy, a garden, patio, and the perfect hosts - Mary and Peter.

We are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0VE2Trvl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

We just returned from our second stay at La Petite Maison. As with the last time, we enjoyed it very much. The cottage is cozy and decorated beautifully. It contains everything needed for a comfortable stay, including the makings for breakfast.

As one reviewer stated, the sun does shine in early through the skylights. However, sleep masks are provided beside the bed. I do agree that it would be nice to have curtains on the front window.

Mary is a warm and charming hostess (in no way 'crazed'), and very willing to be of assistance.

We will return and will also recommend the property to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ks53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

Roger and I so enjoyed our visit to the Mendocino area made all the more enjoyable by our stay in La Petite Maison. Our Garden Cottage was delightful with every comfort and in such a lovely setting. We had a really relaxed and pleasant stay. We loved Mary's 'English' garden and looked forward each morning to the visit by a mother deer and her 'Bambi'.
Thank you Mary and Peter for making us so welcome. We would love to come back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkBlueseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

I would prefer it if you didn't let others know of this secret find of mine. Go yourself, enjoy the peace in an intimate setting, regale the staff ( Peter and Mary ) with stories and wildly embrace them, plan your return trip, all so that we can keep La Petite Maison fresh in our memories and heart. Do not, however, tell all your friends. It will ruin our secret.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WatchingWhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Ca
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

Thank you, Peter and Mary, for making your cottage so cozy and comfortable. You thought of all the little touches to make my stay so wonderful. I loved the skylights over the bed, what a gift to fall asleep looking at the multitude of stars at night. The property is lovely, I enjoyed sitting on the patio with a good book listening to the breeze rustle in the trees. And what grand trees they are!! I cannot wait to return to your beautiful haven of quiet and rest. You are charming hosts, thank you for your warm welcome and for pampering me!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumnglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

We had so much fun. Our cottage was charming and comfortable and the gardens were lovely. The setting couldn't have been more romantic. Staying at La Petite Maison is a great value, and we will not hesitate to return on our next visit to Mendocino.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraCarmelValley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
2.0 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.9 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.9 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
1.8 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Maison

Property: La Petite Maison
Address: 43430 Olson Lane, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing