We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Petite Maison part deux” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Petite Maison

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Petite Maison
Sacramento, CA
1 review
“La Petite Maison part deux”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

Another great stay, this time in the winter. "Our" cozy spot once again came through with warm fires, (huge, fresh-caught) dungeness crab from Noyo, raven calls, and silence. As before, the cottage was spotless, well appointed and just right.

Spent each morning (more like noon!) in Mendocino at Moody's (the local coffee shop), then shopping at Harvest Mkt for dinner supplies. Drinks at Patterson's also a must at least one night.

Nearby Russian Gulch offers nice, flat hiking up Fern Canyon and up-close views of one of the coast's many historic arch bridges built during the New Deal of the 1930s. Bring your camera.

Although the restaurants in town are good and plentiful, we recommend cooking, especially since the cottage's kitchen is well supplied and the market offers such nice ingredients. Here's a spontaneous recipe from our latest trip: for each person, take a boneless chicken breast half, split it lengthwise (almost in half ) and open it like a book. Add a slice of prosciutto, a slice of fontina or provolone cheese, a few fresh leaves of parsley, basil, oregano, or?, salt and pepper of course, and close it back up book-fashion. Brown in olive oil or butter, turning once. Reduce heat, add a good splash of white wine, cover for a couple minutes and steam until chicken is just done. Remove from pan. Reduce any remaining wine down to create a nice little sauce. Chicken ala Petite Maison! One of the many inspirations of staying at such a wonderful place.

Go see Peter and Mary, you'll be very happy you did.

  • Liked — Solitude, quiet, our hosts, well appointed solid cottage
  • Disliked — No cell phone or internet service (non-issue for us, but some might feel put out)
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nomalicenomercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2008

The cottage was at the end of a dirt road that wound through beautiful redwoods, past other houses hiding amongst the many trees. It was beautifully decorated, neat, and clean, with a touch of home and a touch of "spa get-away." It has everything you need for a relaxing escape: comfort, warmth, privacy, and a comfy bed, complete with comfy down comforter, warm quilts and many fluffy pillows. The fireplace, sitting and dining areas down stairs are perfect too; and there's and a wonderful little kitchen perfect for cooking for 1 or many! There are even french doors leading to a patio on the second story that is perfect for listening to the morning quiet (quiet that lasts all day, by the way) and for star watching at night. If you visit this beautiful cottage, you'll never forget it and you'll start working on how to get back there as soon as you leave! Savourer!

  • Liked — Location, location, location!!!
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkey1SoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2008

We arrived at night to a lit up cottage at the end of a dirt road and walked into a quaint home for the week. (The owners even call it 'your' home while you're there - it was just that). In the morning, we found ourselves surrounded by redwoods and a wonderfully maintained flower garden and pond. The cottage is quiet, secluded, yet located not far from all that Mendocino has to offer. It was the best of all worlds - off the beaten path yet close to it. We would highly recommend La Petite Maison to all, though recommend it with just a little hesitation because we don't want it to become too well known!!

  • Liked — quiet and secluded
  • Disliked — heater broken for the first day
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen ellen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2008

This place is a cozy little cottage in the mendocino woods. It is five minutes from downtown mendocino. The caretakers of the property are amazing and willing to please in every aspect of your stay. We will definately go back to be in the this wonderful environment. The gardens Mary has tended are a sight to see and the outside patio is very tranquil sitting next to the pond. We would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants silence, serenity, and solitude in beautiful mendocino.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rperman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oshawa, ontario
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2008

A perfect cottage to get away from the hectic everyday world. Set in the Redwood forest, surrounded by gorgeous gardens the cottage is completely quiet and tranquil.
Mary's gracious and friendly hospitality adds to the already wonderful ambiance. She is the consummate hostess!
The cottage itself is stylishly decorated with a French ambiance and is extraordinarily comfortable. All amenities available for a relaxing and rejuvenating retreat after exploring the Mendocino Coast.
Highly recommended! BJL. Oshawa, Ontario.

  • Liked — hostess
  • Disliked — upstairs a little cold
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjlOshawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

Nice people, lovely surroundings, wonderfully calm and quiet clearing in the redwoods just a short trip from Mendocino.

Well furnished kitchen and bathroom with skylights; laundry facilities.

Lots more on their Web site.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank NormPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
2.0 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.9 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.9 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 24 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#9 of 24 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Maison

Property: La Petite Maison
Address: 43430 Olson Lane, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing