We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raven's Restaurant

Raven's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Raven's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 22 Restaurants in Mendocino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great ocean view. Enjoyed the vegetarian options. Excellent service. Outstanding salad, entre and sides. Can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    56
    32
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“pretentious but delicious”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had Sunday morning brunch with extended family. Loved the separate room available for diners with dogs! The selection of local ingredients was excellent, though we were all disappointed The Ravens moved from vegetarian to strictly vegan. I do have to admit that while the vegetarians among us were quite pleased with our meals, the meat-eaters grumbled a bit (something about the lack of bacon...). Waiter was friendly and knew the menu inside and out. Next time I'm in the area I'll probably find a local diner for breakfast and try the dinner at The Ravens.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chaosreins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not just for Vegans”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a place that puts an amazing amount of care in its menu which is a selection of vegan dishes with a substantial variety of gluten free options. The wine list is extensive. The cocktails are also great. Everything is fresh and you can really tell.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had the Chilaquiles one morning and the Stanford Inn Florentine with seasoned tofu the next, and both were delicious and very filling, but the hollandaise that came with the florentine was absolutely the best vegan hollandaise I have ever had. For dinner the first night, I had the amazing encrusted mushroom sandwich (like a fancy Po Boy with avocado), and the second night, the tacos biologicos, which were delicious but small, so I had the banana foster split, which was enormous and amazing! Tea and dessert, which is served daily in the afternoons and is complimentary for hotel guests, is a must, as the vegan cheesecake is the best I have ever had, and the bundt cake was also really good. I did notice some people who were not aware that the restaurant was vegan, and they could not comprehend why they could not order milk with their coffee (even though there were several milk alternatives to choose from), so if you are expecting them to have any non vegan food, this is not the place for you! Otherwise, it is absolutely amazing, and among my top 3 favorite vegan restaurants in California.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AWvegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cuisine That is Fantastically Good”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Staying at Stanford Inn is probably the best way to enjoy the delicious dishes available at The Ravens Restaurant. That way breakfast, tea and dinner are part of the daily experience. My non-vegetarian husband enjoyed the food as much as I, a vegetarian did. I am also gluten-free and delicious dishes were
prepared to accommodate my needs. The restaurant is famous far and wide and locals recommend it and visitors staying elsewhere also enjoy the wonderful offering that change each day

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raven's Restaurant also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Raven's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing