We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Arcata Inn(Arcata)(Great Value!)
$159
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$189
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
183
139
34
9
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
139
34
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportfront deskquiet locationfree weightsclam beachshort drivehi expresscinnamon rollsredwoods national parkbooked this hotelclean hotelroom rateexcellent staycomplimentary breakfastwould stay here againrooms are largeyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 376 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Good clean hotel. Breakfast was good as usual for HEI. Room was clean and roomy. The only problem with McKinleyville is that it does't have much in the way of restaurants..mainly fast-food. Staff are courteous and helpful...with that Eureka type vibe.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Charlie J, thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are happy to be your home base while exploring the magical redwoods. We too hope that a restaurant or two will be built around us, until then we hope you enjoyed the quiet coastal location we have. Come back again to stay with us. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

I spent a few months living here while working in the area in late 2017.  The staff were like family.
They really went out of their way to make my wife (when she could be there) and I to feel at home.
There was a mixup early on with our reservation which was rather unpleasant. However, it's how you deal with problems that counts and they handled it very well.  I can't say enough good things about the staff.
The breakfast is good with plenty of choices. They have a nice pool, Jacuzzi and small workout room.
Normally I prefer to stay within walking distance to shops and restaurants but most hotel zones in this region are unfortunately overrun with homeless people.  You don't have this problem at HI Express Eureka Arcata Airport.The location is rather isolated but there are some restaurants and markets within a short drive in McKinleyville and Trinidad. I really liked this nice quiet location. 
I definitely recommend this hotel.

To the staff:
Thank you guys for a great stay.  Miss you all...and the cookies.
We had a great time in Africa and Europe by the way.  All our stays in Germany were free with the points we had from our stays with you.  Thanks. Sorry it took so long to post our review. I tried to post a review through the HI App on my phone but it would never go through.
God bless.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank tripjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Tripjunky, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel, but most importantly about our staff. They work so hard to make our guest really happy. I am glad they all did a fantastic job making you feel right at home. Come back up here to visit us soon! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

The stay was very comfortable. The morning breakfast was good. Staff is very cooperative. Rooms are large with provisions of toiletries provided. Located near the sea front across the road.

The have News papers and other reads available at the reception and can be picked up if so desired.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Thank Nirmal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Nirmal M, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy our location was perfect for you. It is great that you enjoyed breakfast in the morning with us. Next time you have to take a bicycle rental down the coastal trail. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2018

Room 230 has a nice view of a field (which we took a walk in later)

No hotel directory in room, need to know hours of pool, laundry, breakfast, etc.

Great water pressure in bathroom shower, but ours, and our neighbors’ showers are very loud! Fan in bathroom very loud.

Pillows compressed- hard to get good sit-up support for reading.

Nice table in room but chairs at the table were very low or the table was very high!

Easy on and off lamps on either side of bed with appropriate wattage bulbs. Hooray!

Recycle bin in room! Yay!

Recycle/trash containers in breakfast area need better signage- people were throwing everything in every one of the containers. Also asked if they composted their vegetable waste/food scraps and was told no. Very sad as I am sure there is a program in their county.

Hand cleaner in breakfast area would be good- everyone is touching all the food and equipment handles and switches.

Pool and jacuzzi looked great (didn’t get to use this trip).

Parking very easy.

Room Tip: 230 has nice view and was pretty quiet
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KOSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

KOSacramento, thank you for staying with us. We appreciate the valued feedback you had about your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed the view from your balcony. We hope that you have another opportunity to stay with us again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2018

this is just another Holiday inn Express. Nothing bad and nothing exceptional.You know what you get when you check in. It is easy access from 101 with a quiet surrounding near the airport. Makes you less worry about your fully packed car being broken into if the place is right off busy highway near a mall or shopping center. However, the room rate was nearly $140 in the shoulder season. It is kind of high for Holiday Inn Express in a small non touristy town.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Hello Rick H!

It's a pleasure hosting your stay in McKinleyville! We also welcome your thoughts.

The Holiday Inn Express Brand is designed for the Smart Traveler, with a Simple, Smart, Spot on service. I'm glad that we have delivered on this promise during your stay with us.

We don't want to stop there though because we are after all a Holiday Inn Express and Suites. I'm sorry that we fell a bit short in impressing you. I also recognize that there's an issue with our pricing during this time. You can be sure that our General Manager will take your comments into consideration when making decisions about our pricing strategies and future updates.

Once again, thanks for your time. We hope to have you again, so we can provide you the 5-star experience that so many of our guests have grown fond of.

Safe travels,

Gian M
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews