We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so organized”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McKinleyville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 6, 2013

check in time was 3:00 pm and I made 2 reservations for 2 rooms , a king room and a queen room , my husband and I walked in the lobby it was almost 3:00pm , the front desk said our room wasn't ready so we think ok we'll wait , we waited for 30mins and then went up to the desk to see if it was ready , they said no that will take another 30 more minutes , because the hotel was full and they are trying to clean every room , really .....this is just so wrong , so we waited for like 10 more and they let us know that our room was ready , so we checked in to the king room and when my cousin checked in to her queen room that I already reserved they told her that all they have is a king and a pull up .....really !!!! ....when I made the reservations 2 months ahead with specific request a king and a 2 double queen ....so they finally squared it away but I think this is wrong .....and for real I will not make any more future reservation for this hotel again .....thank you ....and oh the bath towels they put in the bathroom had a huge hole in it not so nice .....huh....

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Malua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Malua H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 351 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express for three days in late July to take in as much of the area's natural beauty as possible. The hotel is quite beautiful in itself. The rooms are beautiful and the swimming pool and spa were especially nice. They have a good breakfast for long hours. Since my room included a fridge and micro, the supermarket in town helped keep expenses down.
The hotel is completely quiet, even with the small airport nearby. Go for the jacuzzi rooms, if you feel like it, but the indoor heated pool and spa seem just as good to me. Staff outstanding. Wireless and the TV great. I'd suggest staying here over anywhere in Eureka.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoguncharly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights here, while we were in the area. A very nice, clean hotel in a great location! The staff was very helpful and friendly...suggesting local restaurants and things to do. The room was very clean and the breakfast was well stocked and hot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2wholuvtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I found this hotel very nice. We toured Redwood National Park during the day and found his hotel very close to the park and more comfortable than most Holiday Inn Expresses. Staff was extremely accommodating and gave us excellent recommendation for dinner. Breakfast started at 430A, which I'm sure is due to those catching flights, but we enjoyed it to get an early start on hiking.

Room was adequately furnished and chair was comfy to sit in.

There was a nice central area to sit in and fireplace to enjoy.

Hotel was very easy to find and parking plentiful.

We would definitely return on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parkermh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We felt lucky to get a room at our hotel of choice at 7pm after driving through Humboldt Redwoods State Park. Apparently it was the last room for the night! It was a nice room with a jacuzzi, but meant for two people. We were a family of four and we got charged for a pull-away bed. I don't know if it was the norm for a hotel to charge for a pull-away (we've been staying at hotels with double beds). Nevertheless, we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This motel was built in 1999 and has been well maintained, except for the elevator, which made an annoying noise every time the door opened or closed. The rooms were large and the furniture was excellent. I thought the mattresses were not as good as found in the newest HEIs.

Staff was friendly but was not able to check in until 4pm.

If the elevator was quiet I would rated it as "very good".

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank bayview6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear bayview6,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to improve the service we provide.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with our elevators and deeply regret that this aspect has negatively affected your overall experience with us. It is our fullest intention to fulfill and meet our guests' needs, as such, your comments will be used to ensure that we provide the best guest experience.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us. It is only with both positive and negative feedback that we can strive to improve our service to our guests and I do hope that you give us again the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future so we can show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel seems practically brand new. It's blissfully isolated and quiet in the middle of an "office park" that's barely there, at least not yet. It's just grass all around. The airport is a charming little thing, and we were never woken up by any planes.

You can walk or bike down the road to the shore, and it's less than half a mile. But keep in mind that public access to actually get on the beach is a lot farther.

Other than that, it's an average well-executed Holiday Inn Express, clean and well maintained. It has one of the nicer lobbies I've seen in the chain. There are photos of the local landscape all over the walls. There was plenty of parking even during Fourth of July week.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skihist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McKinleyville
12.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
10.9 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
217 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
11.6 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#3 of 21 in Eureka
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express

Address: 3107 Concorde Dr, McKinleyville, CA 95519-9305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > McKinleyville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McKinleyville
Price Range: $133 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy yourself in the modern conveniences of Northern California's newest Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, a 100% non-smoking hotel. Venture through misty ancient redwood groves or stroll along unspoiled sandy beaches with spectacular views of the Pacific and its rugged coastline, all within minutes of the hotel lobby. The Inn's mission style architecture and country setting reflect the natural beauty of the north coast environment. The hotel is located just minutes from Humboldt State University in Arcata. Old Town Eureka is an easy 20 minute drive south and the charming town of Trinidad and Patrick's Point State Park are just 10 minutes to the north. We are also the closest hotel to Cher-ae-Heights Casino. The hotel offers everything the business or leisure traveler needs for a comfortable visit, with 84 rooms plus meeting space for groups up to 60. *Indoor pool, whirlpool spa and exercise room*Generous size rooms and wet bar suites*Free deluxe Continental breakfast*Free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access (all rooms)*Business center with two work stations*phone/data port access/voice mail*Guest laundry*Free airport shuttle*Restaurants and charming downtown area within minutes*Beau Pre public golf course 1/2 mile away*Bike rentals available onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Mckinleyville
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Mckinleyville Hotel Mckinleyville
Holiday Inn Express Mckinleyville
Holiday Inn Mckinleyville
Mckinleyville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing