We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good, Quiet Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McKinleyville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very Good, Quiet Location”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This motel was built in 1999 and has been well maintained, except for the elevator, which made an annoying noise every time the door opened or closed. The rooms were large and the furniture was excellent. I thought the mattresses were not as good as found in the newest HEIs.

Staff was friendly but was not able to check in until 4pm.

If the elevator was quiet I would rated it as "very good".

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bayview6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear bayview6,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to improve the service we provide.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with our elevators and deeply regret that this aspect has negatively affected your overall experience with us. It is our fullest intention to fulfill and meet our guests' needs, as such, your comments will be used to ensure that we provide the best guest experience.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us. It is only with both positive and negative feedback that we can strive to improve our service to our guests and I do hope that you give us again the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future so we can show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    126
    30
    8
    9
See reviews for
128
116
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel seems practically brand new. It's blissfully isolated and quiet in the middle of an "office park" that's barely there, at least not yet. It's just grass all around. The airport is a charming little thing, and we were never woken up by any planes.

You can walk or bike down the road to the shore, and it's less than half a mile. But keep in mind that public access to actually get on the beach is a lot farther.

Other than that, it's an average well-executed Holiday Inn Express, clean and well maintained. It has one of the nicer lobbies I've seen in the chain. There are photos of the local landscape all over the walls. There was plenty of parking even during Fourth of July week.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skihist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've stayed in Holiday Inns before and I can't say this was much different. The room was very large (or maybe it just felt that way after spending the previous 3 nights in a small San Fran hotel room). Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was free and had a lot of options, but it was just average and was very busy. This was a great place to stay when visiting Redwood National Forest as it was a short drive up to the park in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your nice review of our Property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again next time you are in the area. We are always striving to be the best Hotel in our area so please feel free to let us know anything that would have made your stay that much better. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family of four stayed here for two nights during our trip to visit the Redwood National Forest. I booked the room only two weeks prior to arriving, and wish I had booked at least a month or more earlier than I did so that I could get two queen beds. On the two nights that we were there, both nights were booked completely and on our first morning found a family sleeping in the lobby. The couches looked more comfortable than my bed so I was wondering what they had to pay that night because my rate was considerable. I originally booked this hotel because it seemed to be the best option in the area. It was very clean, but not comfortable. Because I booked late, I had to take a King bed with a couch/sleeper. I asked over the phone about the couch and was told that it would be very comfortable, and it wasn't - at all! The front desk was very helpful and courteous and really tried to help us out, but in the end we went to the Kmart and bought an air mattress for our girls to sleep on. The King bed was very hard and the pillows were not what I expected. I've stayed at Holiday Inn's numerous times and can always count on a comfortable bed with very nice pillows, not the case with this Holiday Inn. On the positive side, the breakfast was good with a variety of items to choose from. It's a small dining space so it was always crowded and you're lucky to get a table. Free access to their computers in the lobby which was nice and my girls enjoyed the pool. Bring warm clothing because even in the month of July it was in the 60's.

Room Tip: I had a room on the south side which has a view of the residential area (ocean), but it was so foggy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We appreciate the feedback and would strongly encourage you to book very early during the summer months as we are full each night from June through September. I am very sorry that you did not find the Hotel to be comfortable and I can promise you next time you stay with us, we will make sure to get you in a room with two beds (as long as you are booked early enough) and we will find you a room with the softest mattresses that we have. We always want our guest to have the most enjoyable stay possible so we would be more than happy to accommodate requests like this going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A clean and comfortable place to stay while traveling north along the coast! And one of the best things was the availability of laundry machines! Additionally, the fitness center was a nice surprise.
The king deluxe was a steal for the extra money. Its space was substantially larger than the standard king.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review of our Hotel. We appreciate the kind words are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We arrived here after a coastal drive down from Neskowin, Oregon. The front desk staff was helpful with suggestions of places to eat and activities to do. They told us about the Arcata oyster festival which was a truly enjoyable experience. The lobby had a lovely fireplace and gathering area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjpalmer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the Oyster Festival. You will have to make it a yearly event! Although we would love to have you stay more often than that. Thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in June 2013. Hotel is clean and is a safe area which is kind of outside of town. I thought we would hear airplanes since it is right next to the airport, but we did not hear anything. The staff was very friendly and offered up different routes and things to do while visiting the Avenue of the Giants and Redwood National Forest. Breakfast was good except they ran out of pancake batter on the second morning and people are kind of tripping over each other to get their food.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the south side, you can kinda see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the very nice review. Our staff enjoys giving our guests information on where to go and what to see so we are excited that you had a good time. We are very sorry about the Pancake batter running out. We will make sure that does not happen again. Thanks again for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McKinleyville
10.9 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
187 reviews
14.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
12.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
8.2 mi away
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blue Lake
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express

Property: Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express
Address: 3107 Concorde Dr, McKinleyville, CA 95519-9305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > McKinleyville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McKinleyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy yourself in the modern conveniences of Northern California's newest Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, a 100% non-smoking hotel. Venture through misty ancient redwood groves or stroll along unspoiled sandy beaches with spectacular views of the Pacific and its rugged coastline, all within minutes of the hotel lobby. The Inn's mission style architecture and country setting reflect the natural beauty of the north coast environment. The hotel is located just minutes from Humboldt State University in Arcata. Old Town Eureka is an easy 20 minute drive south and the charming town of Trinidad and Patrick's Point State Park are just 10 minutes to the north. We are also the closest hotel to Cher-ae-Heights Casino. The hotel offers everything the business or leisure traveler needs for a comfortable visit, with 84 rooms plus meeting space for groups up to 60. *Indoor pool, whirlpool spa and exercise room*Generous size rooms and wet bar suites*Free deluxe Continental breakfast*Free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access (all rooms)*Business center with two work stations*phone/data port access/voice mail*Guest laundry*Free airport shuttle*Restaurants and charming downtown area within minutes*Beau Pre public golf course 1/2 mile away*Bike rentals available onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Mckinleyville
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Mckinleyville Hotel Mckinleyville
Holiday Inn Express Mckinleyville
Holiday Inn Mckinleyville
Mckinleyville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing