We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in McKinleyville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McKinleyville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a nice, apparently fairly new facility. It has a very nice lobby with large sitting area with a fireplace. Our room was nicely furnished. It included a desk with a chair, plus a comfortable chair and ottoman with a side table. There was also a second upright chair next to the desk. The furniture was stylish and looked to be a cut above typical standard hotel furniture.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFH_NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your very nice review of our Hotel. We make an effort to furnish the rooms nicely for our guests so we are excited that you appreciated that. We hope to have you back at the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 349 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was one of the many hotels my husband and I stayed at during our Hwy 101 road trip and it was surprisingly the nicest hotel we stayed at! I booked it due to it's convenient location and positive reviews on Trip Advisor, but everything about this hotel exceeded my expectations. The Front Desk staff was very friendly and helpful, there's a cozy seating area just off the main lobby with couches and a fireplace, our "standard" room was huge and beautifully decorated, the "continental" breakfast was more of a breakfast buffet with a large variety of hot foods. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2NWtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We thank you for your wonderful review! Thank you for all the great comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We definitely hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is an excellent Holiday Inn with spacious , comfortable well furnished rooms.Reception staff excellent and very helpful with restaurant recommendations and maps and goodie bag.The hotel is located in a quiet business park near Arcata/Eureka Airoprt but this must be a very small airport as we had no noise issues from planes or traffic.Perfect for a stopover from Highway 101.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBJDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. I am glad that you had a nice, quiet stay. Being so close to the Airport, people assume that it is a very loud location but we really do have an extremely quite Hotel which you experienced while you were here. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Portland. I was totally impressed with how clean and spacious the rooms were! The front desk staff was very helpful. There are several beautiful spots to see within a 5 min car ride. The pool area was clean, well maintained. Would defiantly recommend if you are traveling in the area.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your review of our Hotel. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our Hotel and service of our staff so we are glad you enjoyed it all. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

After an exhausting layover in SFO, I arrived one date late at the Holiday Inn Express. Rachael, at the front desk, was most gracious. She gave me a complimentary upgrade to a mini-suite (Rm. 249) which was more than perfect. The room overlooked the meadow, and it was as quiet as quiet can be. It also was large and suited my 2 lively grandsons who were able to enjoy the size of the suite.
I am a repeat guest at this hotel and, as always, everything is clean and the staff goes out of its way to make you feel comfortable. I border on being a vegan so the breakfast did not allow me to eat the many other "foods" but the coffee is great. And the bananas and oranges were a nice touch.
I especially want to thank Rachael for her kind manner. She absolutely stuck out as the most understanding and compassionate staff member this Holiday Inn Express employs.
And lastly, always ask for the newer wing if you like "quiet." I especially liked the side entrance where you could park your car and go directly to your room. There is only one elevator so if you are unable to walk up stairs, ask for a first floor room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norah48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you so much for that wonderful review of our Hotel. We appreciate your kind words and have shared this with Rachel and the staff. Thanks again, we look forward to having you back at the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I'm so glad that we found the Holiday Inn Express near the Arcata Airport in McKinleyville. We've stayed at a number of the dumpy motels off the Giuntoli Lane exit and were never really happy with any of them. We tried to stay at the newish Hampton Inn there but the front desk clerk was so rude and took a attitude when I asked for a 3A discount. I thought he was going to charge us more but he told us "no 3 A or AARP" so we decided to look elsewhere for a friendlier and more accomodating place. So that is how we ended up at the Holiday Inn Express.

Very nice front desk person who was happy to give us 3A and also a bag of treats (we belong to the honors club, or something like that). The room was spacious and super clean and comfortable. Bed was great, we had a wonderful nights sleep. We went out to breakfast in the morning so didn't take advantage of their assortment of hot and cold stuff but did have coffee which was good. I noticed that they had bikes for rent in front, we didn't have time to go for a ride this time around but maybe on the next visit. We get to Arcata several times a year and will make this our go to place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

We are glad you found us also! And glad you wrote a review. What a great review, thank you! We always pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and friendly, accommodating staff. We can't wait to have you stay with us again in the future, and next time we will get you on one of our bike rentals! Thank you again for the great review of our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Only 2 stories but very cosey! And right across the street from the airport! Excellent breakfast! Indoor pool and hot tub and a very helpful staff! About a 5 min drive to get to clam beech (free beach access). We would stay here again!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for the very nice review of our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sure you enjoyed Clam Beach as well. We are excited to have you stay with us again next time you are in the area! Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McKinleyville
10.9 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
208 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
12.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
11.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express

Address: 3107 Concorde Dr, McKinleyville, CA 95519-9305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > McKinleyville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McKinleyville
Price Range: $134 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy yourself in the modern conveniences of Northern California's newest Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, a 100% non-smoking hotel. Venture through misty ancient redwood groves or stroll along unspoiled sandy beaches with spectacular views of the Pacific and its rugged coastline, all within minutes of the hotel lobby. The Inn's mission style architecture and country setting reflect the natural beauty of the north coast environment. The hotel is located just minutes from Humboldt State University in Arcata. Old Town Eureka is an easy 20 minute drive south and the charming town of Trinidad and Patrick's Point State Park are just 10 minutes to the north. We are also the closest hotel to Cher-ae-Heights Casino. The hotel offers everything the business or leisure traveler needs for a comfortable visit, with 84 rooms plus meeting space for groups up to 60. *Indoor pool, whirlpool spa and exercise room*Generous size rooms and wet bar suites*Free deluxe Continental breakfast*Free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access (all rooms)*Business center with two work stations*phone/data port access/voice mail*Guest laundry*Free airport shuttle*Restaurants and charming downtown area within minutes*Beau Pre public golf course 1/2 mile away*Bike rentals available onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Mckinleyville
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Mckinleyville Hotel Mckinleyville
Holiday Inn Express Mckinleyville
Holiday Inn Mckinleyville
Mckinleyville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing