We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, useless internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McKinleyville
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel, useless internet”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in a double queen room over this pas weekend. The hotel is nice for what it is, and for us we wanted a place with a pool for the kids and an internet connection for us to to work. The pool is fine, but the internet connection was useless. Very hard to log on to the network, we got kicked off constantly and it was slow when working. Front desk said they'd been having trouble with the connection for Apple products and gave us a $10 per night refund without even being asked.

The lobby in the hotel is very nice and a decent place to sit and read or work. Breakfast was fine, kind of what you expect but not as good as the Hampton in Valley West. Location is OK. Right next to the airport and no noise from the planes (prop planes only) with incredibly easy access to the freeway, and food close by in McKinleyville.

Rooms were very comfortable and quiet. Beds were good. We slept pretty well and other than the internet issues would have stayed. As it was we left early and moved to another hotel. Not having consistent access is a non-starter for us as we work online when we travel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisfoxdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. I want to apologize for the problems you encountered with our Wireless Internet and do want to pass along that we have fixed the problem that we had been having and the Wireless is working great again. We know how important internet access is to our guests and again I would like to apologize for the problems you had connecting. We hope to see you in the future and again want to thank you for your review.


Sincerely,
Calder Barnard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    126
    30
    8
    9
See reviews for
129
116
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
244 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The walls are a bit thin, but the beds were nice and the property is in a quiet location. The pool was busy, kids like to have a good time. The direct TV was a pain to change channels. The breakfast is open at 4:30 which is nice if you have to take off early. The maid service could use some help, the refrigerator in our room had a plate of half eaten breakfast in it.

Room Tip: Second floor at the end of the hall is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vao_Fefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel! We are always striving to be the best we can so we appreciate the feedback and will continue to work hard to make sure you enjoy your stay with us. Thank you again for your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackamas, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very nice Hotel but tired of hearing about what you have to do to get two beds in room without paying extra. Probably will go back to Best Western. When you book on hotwire and end up with this hotel chain they say they do not guarantee the number of beds which can be very difficult when traveling with friends or a sister, mom etc. who each want their own bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindamurphyrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Hotel. We will always try to accomodate any request that you have but unfortunately those sites do not always consider the inventory that we have available. If you call us directly we can offer a comparable rate as well as give you the room type that you request. Thank you again for the nice review, I hope this helps and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We travelled and stayed at three other hotels on our trip. The Holiday in McKinleyville cannot be beat. Great quiet rooms, great staff and clean and roomey. Lots of TV programs to choose from. They have a very nice breakfast also in the mornings starting at 4 am for travelers going to the airport. I think the best in the Eureka/Arcata area !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We appreciate the great review you had for our Hotel. Were so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have you stay with us again in the future. We recently upgraded our TV programing and included a lot of new channels so its exciting to hear that our guests enjoy that. Thank you again for the nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We ended here more by accident and after driving through a somewhat shady McKinleyville, this was a wonderful surprise. This is a newer facility and it shows with a very nice lobby, comfortable rooms and a well put together breakfast buffet (included in the stay). Nice and quiet (despite being so close to the little airport) and the staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay again if back in this area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review. We're glad that you stayed with us, even if by accident. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and we are always happy to see repeat guests. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future. Thanks again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

What can I say… the screen had fallen off the window and lay right outside on the roof. The smoke detector was wrapped in plastic(how safe is that?) and there was an empty shampoo bottle on the floor of the bathroom from a prior occupant. Maid service woke us up at 8:00AM on a Saturday. There was so much chlorine in the pool I can't get the smell out of the swimsuits and the kids eyes were red for hours. I don't expect much from an included breakfast but I do hope for more than powdered eggs, limp and greasy bacon, and other fattening and unhealthy choices. The only fresh fruit were some bananas that were somewhere between green and brown but nowhere near yellow.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not above the pool, you can clearly hear the noise until 10:00PM
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We take the safety and security of our Hotel very seriously and have looked into and fixed all of the issues/problems that occured during the stay. We appreciate the comments and listen to guest suggestions and in fact now have other fresh fruit options to go with the bananas. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Despite its proximity to the airport and being nearly full, it was very quiet and a relaxing place to stay. I was touring Humboldt State U. with my son, and this hotel was just 7 minutes away from campus, set in the most beautiful area. Being as my son is starting at HSU in the fall, I expect we'll be visiting fairly often, and this is the place we'll stay. The room rate was very competitive with other hotels in the area, and it was new enough and nice enough that I'm sure even my very particular husband will like it. The complimentary breakfast was nothing fancy, scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, cereal, baked goods, but it was tasty and fresh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fyrfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calder B, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for the nice review of our Hotel. That is very exciting that your son is just starting at HSU. We would love for you both to stay whenever you come visit him and we even have an HSU family rate so I would encourage you to ask about that next time you are in the area visiting him. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McKinleyville
10.9 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
14.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
12.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express

Property: Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express
Address: 3107 Concorde Dr, McKinleyville, CA 95519-9305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > McKinleyville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McKinleyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy yourself in the modern conveniences of Northern California's newest Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, a 100% non-smoking hotel. Venture through misty ancient redwood groves or stroll along unspoiled sandy beaches with spectacular views of the Pacific and its rugged coastline, all within minutes of the hotel lobby. The Inn's mission style architecture and country setting reflect the natural beauty of the north coast environment. The hotel is located just minutes from Humboldt State University in Arcata. Old Town Eureka is an easy 20 minute drive south and the charming town of Trinidad and Patrick's Point State Park are just 10 minutes to the north. We are also the closest hotel to Cher-ae-Heights Casino. The hotel offers everything the business or leisure traveler needs for a comfortable visit, with 84 rooms plus meeting space for groups up to 60. *Indoor pool, whirlpool spa and exercise room*Generous size rooms and wet bar suites*Free deluxe Continental breakfast*Free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access (all rooms)*Business center with two work stations*phone/data port access/voice mail*Guest laundry*Free airport shuttle*Restaurants and charming downtown area within minutes*Beau Pre public golf course 1/2 mile away*Bike rentals available onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Mckinleyville
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Mckinleyville Hotel Mckinleyville
Holiday Inn Express Mckinleyville
Holiday Inn Mckinleyville
Mckinleyville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing