We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is Amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This is the second time I've stayed at the Mercantile and again it was fabulous! The rooms are Super Comfortable! All themed differently, unique, beautiful... Darlene, one of the owners is incredibly talented, she's decorated all the rooms. My mom and I stayed there for a sewing retreat, the ballroom is really great for sewing, and other group meetings.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutienbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 275 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2010

Very nice B&B if you're on the road to Shasta and want to stay in a smaller town than Mt. Shasta. Very historical feel. One can imagine cowboys and saloon girls hanging out in front of the Merchantile. Nicely appointed rooms with period type pieces. Totally remodeled bathrooms that have all the modern conveniences but keep with period look. Breakfast voucher given for adjoining breakfast "diner", so a 2010 restaurant feel for breakfast. Don't get to town too late as only decent dinner restaurant in town closes at 9PM.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickeyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Mercantile as part of a wonderful vacation in CA and OR. We stayed in the Arts and Crafts room which was the size of a small apartment! It was beautifully appointed. The bed was wonderful with great linen and cozy blankets. The bathroom was amazing, with a huge tub and beautiful tile work. There is a small common area where you can have coffee and relax. The people working there are very nice. It was my birthday and my children had planned for wine and chocolate in our room. The staff prepared it beautifully. My ONLY complaint is that the restaurant where your breakfast is offered is VERY small. We had to wait about 45 minutes for our wonderful breakfast. The food was very good, but the wait was long. I will add it was a great day and there are benches where you can wait outside. Even with that we are planning to go back! McCloud its self is lovely. And with Mt Shasta as a background, very beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

What a find! The Mercantile Hotel has beautiful rooms, amazing hospitality, reasonable prices and an intriguing history. Although we only spent one night, we'll be back. It may be off the highway and tucked away, but it is worth the drive! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurocat75005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I surprised my wife on our 30th anniversary with a stay in the Shasta Wintu Suite at the McCloud Mercantile Hotel, also known as the McCloud River Mercantile Inn. I knew from reviews people liked this hotel, and we were both thrilled with the charm of the place! The owners have put their hearts into renovating this very old building, and the Shasta Wintu Suite has to be seen to be believed. Spacious, elegant, eclectic, wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apjb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

The McCloud Mercantile is a unique property in a town full of lumber-era history. The historic building houses a candy shoppe, cafe with old time charm (and terrific breakfast), and a few other stores. The husband and wife team that owns and operates the mercantile are friendly and take great pride in the property. The actual hotel is on the upper floor, and includes a variety of rooms, a common lobby and sitting area for guests, and even a large ballroom for events. Our room was large, clean, and comfortable. After a couple of days camping and climbing on Mt. Shasta, it was a welcome change!

By far the best accommodations in the Shasta/McCloud area. McCloud itself is a small and sleepy little town...it's about ten minutes back to the town of Mt Shasta for anything resembling nightlife or civilization.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Unique is probably the best word to describe this place. What you get is a package -- Huge rooms, new and clean with an old flair. That alone is an excellent experience. The owner is all in one person -- you just feel welcome and "at home" . A Very nice and interesting guy.
When you arrive you ask yourself - where is the lobby ? But its all a bit different there and i can only recommend to experience it for yourself.

The town is unique also. Nice view to the Mount Sashta area. Ane when you step out of the hotel you feel a bit like Gary Cooper in High Noon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amadeu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
0.1 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
199 reviews
10 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
9.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
McCloud River Inn
McCloud River Inn
#1 of 4 in McCloud
83 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dunsmuir Inn & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Mercantile Hotel

Address: 241 Main Street, McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Price Range: $139 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — McCloud Mercantile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Est. 1897) The McCloud River Mercantile is a Nationally Registered Historical Landmark, located at the foot of Mount Shasta. We offer beautifully appointed accommodations that reflect McCloud’s history from the 1890’s to the 1940’s. We offer spacious rooms with luxurious amenities you will not find elsewhere. Our rooms are furnished with antiques, unique decor pieces, and accessories that contribute to the historic restoration of this special hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your McCloud Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing