We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Certificate of Excellence
dallas
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed August 7, 2010

This was a great place to stay. The owners went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed there stay. They were fun to talk to and offered us tips on what to do in the area. The room was huge with awesome wood floors a couch, a large whirlpool bath and a walk-in shower. The building was awesome, built mainly of wood, with lots of cool shops and a good place to eat breakfast. The town is quiet and has beautiful views of the Mount Shasta and easy access to the nearby McCloud river.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khughes02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    47
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
132
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South UK
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We toured the North West USA for 6 weeks and this was probably the best place we stayed at throughout the entire visit. Even though the weather was poor (we never got to see Mt Shasta even!) the hospitality was excellent, the room was simply magnificent, the bed comfortable and the breakfast arrangements just ideal.

We even had a puncture and the proprietor offered us a pump and directions to the nearest Les Schwab where we had it fixed. We said before we left that we would stay in some places that we would be glad to leave and others where we wished we had stayed longer. This was definitely in the second category.

We would have no hesitation in staying here again if we were ever up in this area - and we thank the lord that the first place we tried never replied to us!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockhopper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I have a problem with calling this establishment an hotel. It is really a set of rooms above some retail stores - cute and authentic but not an hotel as such. We had a problem finding the entrance to the hotel part but were eventually directed to an elevator. The elevator arrived and a man getting out asked us if we were looking for the hotel. We said we were and he told us that Reception was downstairs in the store. As we we in the elevator by now we went up, deposited our luggage in an open area and went downstairs to check in. The man seemed rather flustered having to move some guests lugguage and deal with us at the same time. We were in the Arts and Crafts room - a large room rather devoid of furniture. The furniture was pretty old too. The bed was comfortable though. The bathroom looked newly renovated with a large claw foot tub and alcoved shower. While the bathroom was huge and the towels nice and fluffy there were no rails or hooks on which to hang anything. Nothing desperate but little things like this are annoying. There was only one very large bar of soap (which an employee took to the room upon our arrival). There is no real lobby just a seating area outside some of the rooms. Other people say coffee is available in this area but we did not find it. I also did not feel totally secure here since the door leading to the rooms upstairs was not always closed securely and led straight out onto the street. The cafe where breakfast was taken was great and the breakfast delicious. While it was undeniably historic we paid more at this hotel than at others where the facilities were superior.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2010

The Inn is truly pristine. Well maintain, tastefully decorated, clean and quiet. We didn't want to leave. Darlene and Kevin are wonderful hosts and we loved Sidra's treats. A wonderful experience and we can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We loved our time here! This is a truly original B and B with attention to detail and a complete refurbish of an interesting building. Missing are the hokey floral patterns and paper thin walls of many B and Bs. The owners have mined the original character of the building and and created many unique and beautiful spaces. We were able to get a tour of some of the rooms, and were surprised by the variety. They have a general store, and candy shop, a cafe, and restaurant (with breakfast included) located in the building. McCloud has much to offer if you are looking for a quiet and beautiful getaway with local swimming holes, a beautiful view of Mt. Shasta, and music and movies in Mt. Shasta close by, if you want bit more action (just a bit!). The is the perfect place to take a real mental chill pill - we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We visit the Mercantile Inn once a year and have always had a great experience. The rooms are fantastic, clean, and very comfortable. The different themes are fun. The view of Mt. Shasta is awsome. Walking around the Inn at night takes you back to a different time. We highly recommend the experience of staying at the Mercantile Inn!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beau73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This was our first trip to McCloud, California. We could not have picked a nicer hotel, complete with ambiance, location, television and wireless. The best of the old fashioned hotel and the best of modern convenience. The owners let me access my petcam from their business computer since I wanted to check on my dogs. Incredibly nice folks! Highly recommended! Beautiful hotel. Highly recommend the Founder's Room, which has a beautiful and comfortable claw foot bathtub in the actual room. The spacious bathroom has a double head shower.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mericatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
0.1 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
180 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
958 reviews
9.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
99 reviews
6.8 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
McCloud River Inn
McCloud River Inn
#1 of 3 in McCloud
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Mercantile Hotel

Property: McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Address: 241 Main Street, McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — McCloud Mercantile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Est. 1897) The McCloud River Mercantile is a Nationally Registered Historical Landmark, located at the foot of Mount Shasta. We offer beautifully appointed accommodations that reflect McCloud’s history from the 1890’s to the 1940’s. We offer spacious rooms with luxurious amenities you will not find elsewhere. Our rooms are furnished with antiques, unique decor pieces, and accessories that contribute to the historic restoration of this special hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your McCloud Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing