We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Pass It By”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Pass It By”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Everything was incredible.
The Mathis couple, forgive me if I get their first names wrong, I am great at that but Kevin and Darlene go every extra step even the one that goes right off McCloud Falls for you.
We loved our room and just had a great time.
We have stayed at three places now over the years in Mc Cloud and some of those more than once but this was our first time here and will be the place for our family from now on in the town of McCloud especially with the Mathis Family at the wheel.

Cup Of Coffee,
The Blevins Family

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    47
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
132
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
235 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Nothing better than pulling off the highway onto a beautiful tree-lined road and finding a small town to explore. That's especially true if it is the middle of the week, during low season and you get the welcome that is right for you. Evening arrivals will find little to see or do in McCloud but take a stroll and find your lodging. Be sure to eat before you get to town, White Mointian Café serves a hearty breakfast (included in your Metcantile lodging costs) and lunch only.

Opening the hotel door is like stepping back in time. Don't let the wide dark staircase scare you. Long but comfortably spaced stairs bring you to the landing from which the rooms, a common area and event space are accessed. The Friday George room is small but more than adequate and quite comfortable. From the lovely slanted tin roof to the private bath with a small club foot bathtub, this room is historically intriguing. The perfectly framed view of Mt Shasta is a delight at thigh light and sunrise.

Don't bypass the opportunity to wander through the Mercantile, an eclectic combination of touristy treasures, candies and good house wears stuff. The proprietor is a likeable person with tales to tell of the renovations of the historic structure and the open friendly nature of the best hosts everywhere.

When in McCloud take a turn for the clean, simple and historically significant, Mercantile Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbj2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I found the hotel interesting an unique, kind of "old timey." It was a trip into the past. The accommodations were quite excellent. I had a large king bed which was very comfortable. The cost was quite minimal and the breakfast was large and delicious. I'll return the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainier, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The room was so beautiful, and the staff so willing to accommodate my climb of Shasta. We arrived during the mushroom festival, which we missed while climbing, but met many of the participants. Breakfast was good, bed was good, claw foot soaking tub was great - just what I needed.

Room Tip: I liked the Minnesota Room. Outside view to the festival was convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Four of us were hiking the Pacific Crest Trail. We needed a place to spend the night before starting and a place to resupply 5 days later. The Mercantile Hotel was perfect. Beautifully resurrected from old train and lumber uses, very comfortable large rooms and impeccable hospitality. A wonderful surprise to find. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hbr95404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This place was a great place to stay and hard to best the view of Mount Shasta. It made us feel right at home when one of the owners picket us up for no cost at the train station. The train came in at 1:30 am.and left at 4:30 am.

Room Tip: All rooms are special and you can not go wrong with any of them!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cruckwardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This old place has been masterfully and tastefully done by a couple from Big City CA. We looked at four rooms and were so impressed we had a problem deciding which one to stay in. Each is themed, done in the best of quality and taste.
We have looked at several inns like this one to purchase and renovate ourselves, and have some idea how much effort it takes to get a quality transformation. Exemplary.

Room Tip: Look at more than one room. You will never be more impressed with a hotel than you will be with this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Riggsfoutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
0.1 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
180 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
959 reviews
9.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
99 reviews
6.8 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
McCloud River Inn
McCloud River Inn
#1 of 3 in McCloud
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Mercantile Hotel

Property: McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Address: 241 Main Street, McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — McCloud Mercantile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Est. 1897) The McCloud River Mercantile is a Nationally Registered Historical Landmark, located at the foot of Mount Shasta. We offer beautifully appointed accommodations that reflect McCloud’s history from the 1890’s to the 1940’s. We offer spacious rooms with luxurious amenities you will not find elsewhere. Our rooms are furnished with antiques, unique decor pieces, and accessories that contribute to the historic restoration of this special hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your McCloud Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing