We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Enjoyed our night in the cute little town of McCloud. Short distance off Highway 5 but a world away. The staff of the McCloud Mercantile was very friendly and attentive. The gift shop and adjoining stores downstairs have a wonderful old time general store feel. The room was very nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and cozy. We had a beautiful view of Mt Shasta out our window. Breakfast downstairs at the darling cafe comes with the room and was excellent. Make the trip into Dunsmuir and have lunch or dinner at the Dogwood Cafe. Excellent food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KC0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 277 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

This B&B was awesome, the mercantile has been transformed from something from the past. The town was small and quaint, the rooms very clean and spacious, the view of Mt. Shasta was splendid, and the breakfast in the cafe was great. They gave you so much food for breakfast I could not eat it all. Each room in the mercantile had its own specialness from a period of time gone by. We loved our stay here and would recommend to anyone passing through. The candy store, and the mercantile store were also very unique. We had a wonderful time here. Jane and Donna

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyfshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kazuya W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Room with a lot of windows all with a clear view of Mount Shasta. Lovely meeting area with tea, coffee, fudge! etc. The whole place is very atmospheric and the town is splendid in the light of early morning. Breakfast in the café down stairs gives you a change to meet the locals in the morning.

Room Tip: Wake up to a breath-taking view of a mountain in the morning (Charles Miller room, if budget allows)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I recently stay for 5 wonderful days at the McCloud Mercantile Hotel and HIGHLY recommend staying at this amazing place. The Inn has been carefully and beautifully restored. Each room is special and unique, capturing beautifully the essence of McCloud and Mount Shasta. To view the spectacular mountain from a special room was a wonderful experience.

The staff at the hotel are gracious in every way. They showed the utmost caring and support in creating a wonderful stay. Both restaurants serve delicious, healthy food, with friendly service. The Inn also was quite helpful with maps and items for touring the area. The general store is beautifully stocked. They carried several items which I had forgotten to bring with me.

I highly recommend staying with them and will do so again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L'Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The place was quaint, the room ( art and craft ) was bigger then the apt I had in New York.
I take that back, the bathroom was only slightly smaller then the Apt I had in New York.
the place was spotless, only complaint may be the bed was a little soft to my taste.

Bed had a feather topper some love this but I like a firmer bed.
The Town of McCloud is nice but the dinning options are bit limited.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allgoodnamesgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nice rooms. Comfortable bed. Our room didn't have very comfortable sitting chairs. Very small TV. Very quiet. The $20 breakfast credit is nice. Nice staff. Very small quiet town. No in-room coffee but available in common area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
0.1 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
201 reviews
10 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
9.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#7 of 9 in Mount Shasta
36 reviews
9.6 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
McCloud River Inn
McCloud River Inn
#1 of 4 in McCloud
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Mercantile Hotel

Address: 241 Main Street, McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Price Range: $135 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — McCloud Mercantile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Est. 1897) The McCloud River Mercantile is a Nationally Registered Historical Landmark, located at the foot of Mount Shasta. We offer beautifully appointed accommodations that reflect McCloud’s history from the 1890’s to the 1940’s. We offer spacious rooms with luxurious amenities you will not find elsewhere. Our rooms are furnished with antiques, unique decor pieces, and accessories that contribute to the historic restoration of this special hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your McCloud Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing