We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay but not the last”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Second stay but not the last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I love this hotel and even used some of it's unique decorating ideas in our own home. The Mathis family treats guests like family visiting from out of town with their warm hospitality and the Mercantile itself is a treasure of 19th century history. We have stayed in two of the spacious rooms and looked at two others. Amazing is not a strong enough adjective to describe the Hotel, town and its people. The McCloud River, its falls and Burney Falls are must see adventures while in the area so allow time to take in this wonderful country. One last note about this little town is the pride we saw by the local people in the town itself. It shows! Thanks again to the Mathis family, we'll be back:)

Room Tip: Charles Miller room. Beautiful, spacious and a nice view of Mt. Shasta
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    45
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
72
130
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

A very well kept B&B . very unusual large rooms and a great breakfast in the café downstairs . WIFI worked great . McCloud is a very charming and quiet town . There was only one place to eat in the evening but , thankfully, they served great food . We were on our way from Lassen to Oregon and this place was an ideal stop –over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The McCloud Mercantile Hotel is a charming hotel, which was loved by every member of our family! We stayed in the Railroad Room, which is perfect for a family of four. With the two twin beds for our children, everyone had their own bed. The room was huge and I loved the hard wood floors. The staff was warm and welcoming, offering tips on hiking and visiting the falls, located nearby. If you are looking for a wonderful night sleep, and a delicious breakfast, which is included up $20 per room, then look no further! The rooms were clean, lovely and comfortable. great A/C for those summer months! There were interesting shops and stores located in the Mercantile building and restaurant choices too. Great for families or a romantic weekend! Next we may leave the kids home!! One note: there is no staff to carry your luggage up to the room. It is more of and Inn than a Hotel. We loved it, but I save 5 stars in my reviews for luxury properties only.

Room Tip: There are rooms that face Mt. Shasta with a lovely view. Great for your romantic weekend. Families o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oregon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We added this stop to our itinerary to avoid the long drive to Reno from Crescent City and close to Lassen Volcanic National Park. Found this cute old company owned logging town. Good views of Mt Shasta. Lots of interesting old buildings to photograph. They roll up the sidewalk after about 3PM so you have the place all to your self. The rooms are upstairs in a historic building. Historic décor but great queen pillow top beds. Clean, very quiet! This is not the usual bed and breakfast since your breakfast is the restaurant in the mercantile and is included in the rates. A little expensive but adds a different experience to a trip in this area,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retirebioteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in the Shasta Wintu Suite. The room was gorgeous with a mountain view and large jacuzzi tub. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was included with our room up to $20. The meals were delicious, portions were great and the service was excellent. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I absolutely loved our room . I actually miss it so much! The energy was amazing and most of all I have never met this loving , caring and one of a kind hotel staff in my life. The views of the mountains were spectacular from our windows of our room. Every room has it's own charm and character which was really lovely. The calmness and serenity that I was experiencing in the town and at the Inn was unbelievable. I miss our breakfast every day at the cafe down stairs . Great service and great food. Can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Inn is located in a charming town that was very peaceful and quite when we were there (Jun 26, 2013). We could see Mount Shasta from our window. The service was great and there was a cafe in the building that served great vegetarian breakfast. We will definitely visit this Inn again next year, on our way to Ashland.

Room Tip: The room facing Mount Shasta is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PS1234_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
10.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.1 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
9.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
McCloud River Inn
McCloud River Inn
#1 of 3 in McCloud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
9.6 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Mercantile Hotel

Property: McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Address: 241 Main Street, McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — McCloud Mercantile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Est. 1897) The McCloud River Mercantile is a Nationally Registered Historical Landmark, located at the foot of Mount Shasta. We offer beautifully appointed accommodations that reflect McCloud’s history from the 1890’s to the 1940’s. We offer spacious rooms with luxurious amenities you will not find elsewhere. Our rooms are furnished with antiques, unique decor pieces, and accessories that contribute to the historic restoration of this special hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your McCloud Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing