We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accommodations in McCloud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

On a recent road trip, we had the good fortune to stay for one night in the pet-friendly room at the McCloud Mercantile Hotel. The 100+-year-old Mercantile Building is a focal point (along with the spectacular view of Mt. Shasta) in this historic little town, and the Mathis family has lovingly restored and renewed the one-time lumber mill town store into a bevy of interesting shops, eating establishments, and a hotel. Included in the cost of our very reasonable room rate was a tasty breakfast at the White Mountain Cafe. Someday, we hope to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abruzzo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 273 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

I appreciate the Mathis family's hospitality. The McCloud River Mercantile Inn is a beautiful old building that is wonderfully furnished. And the owners treat you like their personal guests. This is the only family friendly lodging establishment in town.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djlemley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the McCloud Mercantile Hotel! We stayed one night for my Husbands' 30th Birthday. Our room was even upgraded because they had an upgrade avaliable. We stayed in the Charles Miller room. It was lovely. Beautiful view of Mt. Shasta, cozy fireplace and a jacuzzi tub made the stay even better. The Breakfast that was included with the stay was in the diner downstairs and was delicious! We hope to be back one day soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Friendly folks and accommodations in the most darling antique town. This is my kind of place. They kept the old charm and preserved the history of Mc Cloud. What a find! Don't miss it...only 9 miles from I-5 and near Mt Shasta.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrAnnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you are traveling in the Mt. Shasta area, you must stay at the Mercantile! It doesn't get any better than this. The mercantile has been beautifully updated but remains true to style and the old architecture is wonderful. The Mathis family couldn't be more welcoming and the general store has wonderful merchandise. (And the candy store, the ice cream shop, the bookstore, & cafe...) Only problem is it's such a hard place to leave!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 262Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The rooms are gorgeous! I cute little town were you can take a step back in time and enjoy a simpler time. The staff were helpful and accommodating. I can't wait to go back in the summer.

The breakfast was delicious with friendly staff. Nice stores and people in the town too.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was the best Christmas we've had in ages. We decided to get out of the city for Christmas and didn't want Tahoe, so we stumbled upon McCould and found magic. There were so many beautiful attributes to this inn, the people and the town. The Mathis family made us feel like we were home and we all cooked Christmas dinner together and had a big group of locals and guests for a evening we will never forget. Simply perfection.

Room Tip: We were in the Founders room and it was the best room I have ever stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahettinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
0.1 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
196 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
9.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
108 reviews
6.8 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
McCloud River Inn
McCloud River Inn
#1 of 4 in McCloud
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Mercantile Hotel

Address: 241 Main Street, McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Price Range: $139 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — McCloud Mercantile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Est. 1897) The McCloud River Mercantile is a Nationally Registered Historical Landmark, located at the foot of Mount Shasta. We offer beautifully appointed accommodations that reflect McCloud’s history from the 1890’s to the 1940’s. We offer spacious rooms with luxurious amenities you will not find elsewhere. Our rooms are furnished with antiques, unique decor pieces, and accessories that contribute to the historic restoration of this special hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your McCloud Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing