We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in McCloud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem in McCloud”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you are traveling in the Mt. Shasta area, you must stay at the Mercantile! It doesn't get any better than this. The mercantile has been beautifully updated but remains true to style and the old architecture is wonderful. The Mathis family couldn't be more welcoming and the general store has wonderful merchandise. (And the candy store, the ice cream shop, the bookstore, & cafe...) Only problem is it's such a hard place to leave!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 262Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    46
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
72
131
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The rooms are gorgeous! I cute little town were you can take a step back in time and enjoy a simpler time. The staff were helpful and accommodating. I can't wait to go back in the summer.

The breakfast was delicious with friendly staff. Nice stores and people in the town too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was the best Christmas we've had in ages. We decided to get out of the city for Christmas and didn't want Tahoe, so we stumbled upon McCould and found magic. There were so many beautiful attributes to this inn, the people and the town. The Mathis family made us feel like we were home and we all cooked Christmas dinner together and had a big group of locals and guests for a evening we will never forget. Simply perfection.

Room Tip: We were in the Founders room and it was the best room I have ever stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahettinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in the hotel as part of getting our daughter married in McCloud. Our family had most of the rooms in the hotel which made it really fun. We had our daughters reception in the large upstairs room in the Mercantile. The owners were very helpful and accommodating to us and our group. It really was an A+ experience. There also was a breakfast credit as part of the room and the food in the cafe was very good. The portions were large and the food appetizing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great place to stay - our room was picture postcard perfect and very comfortable indeed. The Mathis family made us feel very welcome with great ideas of places to go and eat and walks we could take. Breakfast in the diner is also a great treat.

Room Tip: All rooms look fantastic, all are different so picking one out would be impossible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I received this review from one of my clients who recently stayed at the McCloud Mercantile Hotel 02OCT2012 and was completely blown away by the customer sevice,warmth and appreciation given by Kevin and Darlene. I knew when I spoke w/him on the phone that it woud be an awesome experience and he proved me right!

If you are heading up near Shasta, stay in the McCloud Mercantile Hotel. You will be graciously welcomed by Darlene and Kevin who manage the hotel, store and do all sorts of things. They are extremely helpful and very accessible and care about your well-being.

We stayed for 3 nights in the 1940's room which is spacious and comfortable. Very clean. Includes a large whirlpool tub. Bathroom is spacious and the fluffy towels just right. Beds are perfect. After an active day and bath or shower, you will sink into sweet comfort. Breakfast is included. Try the breakfast burrito at the Morning Star Cafe just behind the store.

I very much hope to return. I feel like I brought back some of the good feelings from our stay at the McCloud Mercantile Hotel.

You will love the infinite forests in the area. Hiking trails are a short drive from the Mercantile. Drive to the falls and hike around. Also, you will want to walk through the town of McCloud full of history. Read about the history in the McCloud binder found in the sitting room near the small kitchenette, common area. Kevin and Darlene are happy to make suggestions for your outings.

Room Tip: 1940's room which is spacious and comfortable. Very clean. Includes a large whirlpool tub. Bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotLivinginAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were with a large group of friends staying in varying rooms and B&B's in McCloud. My husband and I were upgraded, I think because of a reservation problem that had to do with another client. We had been booked in the pet room and didn't have a pet, hence, they switched us...is what I believe happened and our upgrade was the kind of room where you wanted to stay at least TWO nights, but we only had the luxury of staying one. The owners were extremely accommodating. Price of room included a $20.00 credit to a couple of cafes in the same building. Our breakfast was delicious. There is "nothing" to do in McCloud which makes it a great getaway from everyday life. The small selection of shops are good. The local restaurant, The Lodge, excelled at accommodating our large group on short notice. We have no negatives about our stay at the McCloud Mercantile Hotel.

Room Tip: This very old historic hotel has been remodeled and does have an elevator! There are no coffeepots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjo5711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
10.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.1 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
9.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
McCloud River Inn
McCloud River Inn
#1 of 3 in McCloud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
9.6 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Mercantile Hotel

Property: McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Address: 241 Main Street, McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — McCloud Mercantile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Est. 1897) The McCloud River Mercantile is a Nationally Registered Historical Landmark, located at the foot of Mount Shasta. We offer beautifully appointed accommodations that reflect McCloud’s history from the 1890’s to the 1940’s. We offer spacious rooms with luxurious amenities you will not find elsewhere. Our rooms are furnished with antiques, unique decor pieces, and accessories that contribute to the historic restoration of this special hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your McCloud Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing