We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“McCloud Mercantile Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“McCloud Mercantile Inn”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our whole family loved staying here. The room was spacious; furniture of find quality; bed extremely comfortable; atmosphere and ambience fantastic; and shampoos etc had beautiful scent and were excellent quality. The great room offered fascinating reading material about the area and tea and water which we appreciated. Breakfast was delicious. Staff all very friendly. This was our second stay here and we can't wait to go back. It's our home away from home.

Room Tip: Our whole family loves staying here. It was a second stay at the inn. The atmosphere is warm and cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    48
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
136
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley, CA
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed in the Railroad Room two nights in June 2012 with two teens, 15 and 13.

It was a huge room overlooking the main entrance with a queen bed and two twins. The room was immaculate, sparsely appointed with furniture: two nightstands, a small table and a console for a small flatscreen television. The mattresses were firm and comfortable.

The bathroom had a soaking tub and separate shower with two sinks and a water closet. It was stylish and classic looking with white octagon floor tile. It was well appointed with upscale shampoo and conditioner. The only negative was the water pressure was low (it was slow to fill the tub), but adequate for showering.

Dining was available downstairs at the White Mountain Cafe. We ate there two mornings, only for breakfast. The food was hearty, traditional, with HUGE portions: large flapjacks (about 8" in diameter!), biscuits and gravy (two large split biscuits smothered in a cup of gravy), humungous omelets (they must use 3 or 4 eggs), and reasonably priced. I only wish they were open past 9pm for dinner (we never made it back to the hotel before then). Our rate included a $20 credit for breakfast each morning.

The hosts were service oriented by recommending a room that met our needs (3 beds). They managed to keep us in the same room two consecutive nights (originally the room we booked the first night wasn't available the second). They also left a useful map with information on accessing the McCloud River Falls, 5 miles east on Hwy 89.

My only criticism: keep the wifi is working. There are three wifi hotspots, but they were not working the first night and most of the second night. I was trying to use my laptop over wifi but I had to do it on my iPad over the cellular network instead. Fortunately none of my work depended on the apps or files on my laptop.

All in all we had a terrific time at the McCloud River Mercantile Inn and it will be our first choice for any return visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arbrebleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Our room was fantastic, especially the HUGE whirlpool tub, the furniture and the wood panelling worthy of the timber barons when the Inn was both the company store and lumber company offices. Even the soaps were truly outstanding and made our skin feel great in the dry climate. Innkeepers Kevin and Darlene were right on top of a minor electrical problem in our room and when we tried to buy lots of the soaps to give as gifts, Kevin and Darlene GAVE us about 6 soaps which they even attractively wrapped to make up for the electrical problem. Now that's REAL SERVICE!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

McCloud is a tiny little town in the shadow of Mt Shasta and there isn't much to it except this wonderful Inn and a stellar diner. It's a ten mile drive off Interstate 5 and sometimes when your making a long trip as we were an extra ten miles can seem like forever. But this place is so very worth the extra minutes. There's no lobby to speak of and we came in late and found keys waiting for us in a pre-arranged place. It's an old building, so no elevator and creaky floors, and it almost seemed like we had the place to yourselves, although we were told the place was sold out, so we kept it down in case people were already asleep in their rooms. After getting our things sorted out in the room, I went to explore the rest of the building and found, to my surprise, a huge back room abuzz with quiet commotion. Dozens of little old and not so old ladies were quilting away to the innocuous jangle of a little radio, talking and sipping tea and swapping stories about sons and nephews and retirement and planned retirement. It was a beautiful thing to behold. Quilts of all sizes and colors and fabric types. And nary a television.
In the morning, we got some breakfast at the cafe. Do not miss this!!! Fresh, Farm fresh everything. Good coffee and the best tasting tap water imaginable. Which got us to thinking... there are probably good hiking trails to waterfalls in these parts. I did a quick search on my iphone and voila. The McArthur-Burney Falls were just a short way down the road. We made a short morning excursion, where I felt I needed a brisk plunge in the river. ICE COLD, but sooo damned good. And then we were off. Highly recommend this little detour.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soleswornthin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here last week with 2 couples and we had a wonderful time. The rooms were amazing, and exactly as shown on the website. Every room has a different theme from the past. We really felt like we were 100 years back in time, but with all the luxuries we could ask for. Our room had a bathtub-on-claws in the room, which reminded me of those old western movies. The bathtub really worked, and it was nicely set up with towels and soap. We also had a separate bathroom with double showers. Everything was spacious and clean. The bed was a bit too soft for me, but that is just my super-personal opinion.

Because of our late check-in, we arrived to find the hotel keys taped to the door with our names on it. I guess McCloud is a very honest town! We could just go to our rooms without seeing any staff members, and we paid the next day in the store downstairs.

Breakfast downstairs was great as well, and it was a nice surprise that we had a 20 dollar credit per room. Everybody was super-friendly, and we wish we could have stayed one more night. But we will be back!

Room Tip: Check online to see pictures of all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTurtle08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed the Friday George rm recently and it was the worst sleep I have had anywhere. All the rooms are on the top floor of a large bldg and of course heat rises. That entire level was too hot; couldn't enjoy the common areas.
When I arrived the temp in my room registered 78; after 3 hours of running the a/c full blast, it showed a 3 degree drop. By then it was cool enough outside to open the window, when I discovered right outside this room was a huge vent for the cafe which made way more noise than the noisy room a/c. This went off at 9pm and on at 7:20 AM. Then the room's fan started coming on every 5 minutes and ran for 10 seconds, just long enough to make sure you were awake. The controls had two settings for the fan, "on" and "auto" There was no shutting the thing off. Can't enjoy the decor if you can't get a good night's sleep

Room Tip: Don't stay in Friday George room or any room on that side of the building. Don't stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deskandchairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The first time we stayed here I was so excited and loved the old time feel! What impressed me the most was how clean everything was! Also the effort into every inch of the room details makes it flow so nicely and are not lacking a bit. You feel like you are in a romantic and completely done sanctuary! We look forward to coming here every year for our little getaway. So kind and friendly, just like family! Nothing about the rooms feel cheap and that makes it feel like an actual getaway instead of a dissapointment. Look forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: The Wintu room is very peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smile9357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
10.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
980 reviews
9.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
70 reviews
6.8 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
102 reviews
9.4 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
McCloud River Inn
McCloud River Inn
#1 of 3 in McCloud
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Mercantile Hotel

Property: McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Address: 241 Main Street, McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — McCloud Mercantile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Est. 1897) The McCloud River Mercantile is a Nationally Registered Historical Landmark, located at the foot of Mount Shasta. We offer beautifully appointed accommodations that reflect McCloud’s history from the 1890’s to the 1940’s. We offer spacious rooms with luxurious amenities you will not find elsewhere. Our rooms are furnished with antiques, unique decor pieces, and accessories that contribute to the historic restoration of this special hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your McCloud Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing