We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ammmmmmazing OWL experience!!!”

West Coast Falconry
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Marysville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Coast Falconry is your premier resource for a full range of Falconry classes and services. Owner and Master Falconer, Kate Marden, invites you to join her and the staff at the West Coast Falconry Center to get a glimpse inside this incredible ancient hunting tradition. Our classes and experiences are for falconers and non-falconers alike. We offer an apprentice course that can help prepare you to become a licensed falconer.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ammmmmmazing OWL experience!!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Fantastic experience!!! It goes beyond your expectations. The girls make you feel like family. I will plan another trip for sure to experience the falcon encounter.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JnMBauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    13
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
243 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My 7 y/o son loves raptors and I got a groupon for an intro to falconry class here. Just had to take him. Was worth driving 2 hours from SF to see the smile on his face when he called Don Diego (a Harris Hawk) to his arm! Beautiful birds they care for and educate with. He wants to go back with the whole family for the 2 hour Hawk Walk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
286 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Rapturous Experience with the Raptors!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

WOW...if you've ever marveled at the beauty and wonder of hawks and other raptors, then this visit is a must. Fun history lesson about the magic & folklore of falconry sets the stage. Then the experience of calling a wild hawk to your outstretched (gloved!) arm and watching it hunt and feed - (not feeding on your arm that is) - is just amazing. They are truly magnificent, regal creatures! The guides are extremely friendly & passionate about their work and even with a fairly large group (10), there were many, many opportunities for individual photos and for each individual or couple to interact personally with the hawk(s). I highly recommend this one-of-a-kind adventure & plan to go back for the Hawk Walk. Good for singles, couples, or families.
Just a brief word of caution...the drive was a bit longer than stated on MapQuest due to construction and traffic delays in Marysville. Give yourself plenty of time to get there so you can be relaxed upon arrival.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hollisJ_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very special encounter”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Great presenters for both the intro falconry and owl encounter classes. We learned a lot, got some practical hands on experience, and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Bring good cameras, there are lots of photo opportunities. We are looking forward to the next class!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SVGNCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“True Hands-On Experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you've ever been enchanted by falconers in the movies, the Hawk Walk is your chance to "glove up" and hike through beautiful oak studded hills with a master falconer. She taught us how to call Mari to our glove...what a rush when a large hawk flies right to you!

Directly prior to the hike, our small group enjoyed a brief talk on the evolution of falconry as well as an introduction to West Coast's beautiful birds. Hope to go again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail95658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Coast Falconry also viewed

 

Been to West Coast Falconry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing