We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayglow Cottage

Bayglow Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayglow Cottage
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

This place is simply amazing. We enjoyed this cottage as a family including our kids 7 and 9yrs. Yes, the stairs are a bit steep but it wasn't an issue for any of us. Overall, we've had a very relaxing time at this cozy place. It was a blissful experience and will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1goodtraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davis, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

Lovely, lovely place. Breathtaking views as you're perched along the waterfront. Perfect for up to six people; great for two couples.

I must say: ignore the reviewer from 2008. There are blinds on all the windows, the hot tub is an actual hot tub with jets, the deck is perfectly sturdy, etc.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank journalista95616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

Staying here was the perfect location for a family getaway with young child and teenagers. Where from your deck you can fish, crab, take in the bird-life or relax in the hot tub. Our 4-year-old always wore one of the life-vests provided as there was no railing. Use common sense here.
Great oyster eating places close-by or within walking distance. Point Reyes station is excellent for real food, bakery and restaurants.
Stairs in the house are steep but were not an issue. The house is quaint, relaxed and comfortable. Photos don't do it justice.
Will return and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quiltraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

We had a terrible experience with this property. The website and photos on vrbo.com are incredibly misleading. They also don't mention that the tap water is contaminated. The cottage was extremely hot as there are no curtains or blinds on the front windows to alleviate the sun blasting into the room, and the windows don't open. It actually was too bright to sit in the LR due to the glare from the sun. There are no screens on the doors, so within minutes we had flies, hornets, and spiders in the cottage. The outdoor deck is in poor condition and there is no umbrella or awning for shade. The "hot tub" is a rubber balloon with warm water with no filtering system. It is not a normal spa-like unit. What they have is simply not hygienic. If the windows are open upstairs, the road noise is very loud, and as the previous reviewer noted, the stairs are extremely steep and somewhat dangerous. The kitchen was adequate, but the bathroom was small and dark.
In short, the cottage was not up to our expectations at all, and we made the decision to leave rather than stay. I called the owner immediately and informed her we were leaving. She insisted on charging us $199.50 because "we were giving less than 7 days notice to cancel." Explaining that the cottage was a far cry from the description and that she had neglected to mention that the water was contaminated (the very idea of showering in that water was horrible to contemplate), did nothing to change her mind. There are so many pretty places to stay in the Point Reyes area. This was one of the worst travel experiences I've ever had.

  • Liked — Location on the water
  • Disliked — Contaminated water, unreasonable owner, poor condition of property
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeronicaArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

I found this place on vrbo, a site for owners to list their cottages. Because they can edit their guest comments, tripadvisor is invaluable.

A cottage built directly over the water on Hwy 1, in Marshall about 9 miles from the town of Pt. Reyes. There is a small place to park two small cars or one large one. . The house is perfect for a family, 2 large double beds upstairs, one separate bedroom down. The owners have blessedly used common sense in furnishing it --casual, gently used furnishings that can stand the wear many guests (as opposed to places with all white sofas!). The kitchen is well stocked with spices, sugar, condiments and cooking utensils. This was the best pantry I've ever seen, but don't forget to bring your own coffee, tea and creamer. The hot tub was clean, and a welcome relief after traveling. There are yoga mats as well. The owners are considerate of the local economy and have lots of information on merchants and restaurants. They are also generous with information on wildlife as well as the ecology. In all, this is a very well considered vacation rental.

Things to be mindful of: 1. Before you come up, stop into the grocery store in Pt. Reyes Station to buy your supplies. 2. The stairs up to the second floor are extremely steep. This isn't a house for those with mobility or vision problems. 3. The deck railing is not built to code and is very rickety. This isn't a place for people who cannot swim or have young children. We hope they will invest and fix the deck railing.

  • Liked — The location directly on the bay
  • Disliked — The rickety deck railing surrounding the house that isn't built to code.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank calliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshall
13.4 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nick's Cove Cottages
Nick's Cove Cottages
#1 of 2 in Marshall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayglow Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayglow Cottage

Property: Bayglow Cottage
Address: 19925 Shoreline Highway, Marshall, CA 94940
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Marshall
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Marshall
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
365 Days -- each aglow with a new reflection from the sun, the moon and the tides of Tomales Bay. Only one hour's drive from the Golden Gate Bridge. Located in West Marin, 10 minutes from Point Reyes Station and close to Stinson Beach and Bodega Bay. The cottage has 3 bedrooms, 1+1/2 bathrooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing