We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific value”
Review of Miners Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miners Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We got a big and clean room when we stayed there. They offer free breakfast, we were quite impressed with the options. There is a restaurant for lunch and dinner, but we didn't get to try it because of our timing. Ideal place to stay when on a visit to Yosemite.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Sr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 855 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was a great Motel! We didn’t book anything in advance because we actually wanted to stay on the other side of Yosemite but since the Tioga pass was about to close (an did indeed a few hours after we passed it!) we had to search for a nice and cheap hostel quite late in the afternoon.
We couldn’t have been luckier. The nice lady at the information center on the opposite side of the street recommended this motel and it was really fantastic!
The rooms were really nice. They were big, the beds were super comfortable and the bathrooms really clean.
The staff was very friendly too and also the food was very good. For the price we paid it was way more than we expected for breakfast. There were toast, bagels, cereals, peanut butter, jam, coffee, tea and waffle makers… perfect. The staff also recommended the Restaurant which is located on the same property and the dinner we had there was very good! And it’s great of you can have a nice burger and fall right into bed afterwards ;)
Our favorite part was the whirlpool, which was still on and heated in November so we sat there with our hats on and enjoyed a great fall evening :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Hotel itself wasn't that bad, it was a little over priced, but reasonable. I liked the fact that it was about halfway between two entrances to Yosemite National Park. The staff was friendly and helpful and a continental style breakfast was included in the room rate.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexMcDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The room is a bit oldish, but not geriatric. It is, however, clean, comfortable, with a good climate control. The folks who work there get an A+.

The restaurant doesn't look as good, and the bar is clearly not a place to be. Perhaps it was unusual, but we were there over Halloween and they had a party. 3 people got arrested in the parking lot in the morning. It is, however, a credit to the place that we didn't even hear the major brouhaha. It was a bit telling that the staff took it in stride, I think that the hotel is a good deal, but the bar might not be.

It's 30 miles from Yosemite. The drive there is not fast, but it's lovely. Buy gas in town before you head out.

As an aside, their internet provider isn't so good. It's not the staff or their hardware, but their ISP isn't exactly great guns.

Value for 30 miles from a major national park is extraordinarily good.

Just stay out of the bar.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retired_old_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our third visit in a year to the Miner's Inn and I was very pleased with this visit as well. Room was spotless, beds were warm and breakfast was plentiful and fresh. Rates are competitive - make this your first choice.
Remember to ask for the Happy Burger discount card - Happy Burger is across the street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeachermamaMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

And it is very easy to get into Yosemite. We stayed for three nights and drive into Yosemite valley each day. Took us about 40 min to arch rock entrance. There are several good places to eat in Mariposa- sugar pine diner and gold coin are our favourites. Hot tub and pool area very good on sunny days. Clean and big rooms with all you need

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigerstedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you need to stay in Mariposa, this really should be your pick. The only downside at all was no WiFi working on the premises. The value is phenomenal. The room was spotlessly clean and spacious. The bed was rather firm, but not terrible. There was a nice flat screen TV. The shower had excellent water pressure and hot water. I felt very safe there as a female travelling alone. Their breakfast is one of the best included breakfasts I've ever experienced at a motel and has lots of options.

Room Tip: Room 138 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danibee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
21 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
13.4 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#2 of 6 in Mariposa
625 reviews
20.9 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miners Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miners Inn Motel

Address: 5181 Highway 49 North, PO Box 1413, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range: $59 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Miners Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Miners Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miners Hotel Mariposa
Miners Motel Mariposa
Mariposa Miners Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing