We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for Yosemite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good base for Yosemite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

All in all a good place to stay while visiting the area. The staff is nice and the rooms clean and modern. The breakfast is pretty good but the same every day, something you notice when staying multiple days. After listening to traffic noise on the front side I'd say try for a room on the backside in the 200s where there are no stairs to climb with luggage and quieter. For some odd reason our room didn't have a closet, just an ironing board leaning against the wall. A closet would have been very nice for that 5 day stay. They say everything is higher in the mountains and this place can be included in that saying with the room prices.

When there are milk crates in the back parking lot you can be sure a tour bus will be soon arriving sharing the hotel with you. Those folks are up early and in the breakfast room. It is large but can get crowded.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are tons quieter and with no elevator the ground floor 200s are the ones to pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    381
    226
    61
    34
See reviews for
303
371
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Do not recommend. The room had ants, the internet was unusable. The night manager blamed it on the owner being asleep. The next day when trying to solve the ant problem, the day manager lied and said the manager was out running errands. When we finally saw him, he apologized for oversleeping. For his part, he was nice (our car was broke down and he offered us a ride), but he didn't seem to have any clue about our issues with the room. We had a reservation for the second night, but cancelled. Oakhurst is neaby and has nicer accomodations--look there instead.

Room Tip: Go to Oakhurst--the Comfort Inn is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mariposa hotels

Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this motel. Very clean, comfortable and convenient to the park. The pool and hot tub were beautifully arranged with flora and fauna. The breakfast was very good and the staff was really accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlorenzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked a one night stay as it was on the way to Yosemite. This was not a good Best Western but the problems could easily be rectified.
The room was OK clean but had a musty smell and could do woth some re-decoration. Sound proofing was not good but bed was comfy.Had everything you need but old & worn.
The problems came around Reception, one rather stressed lady was left to answer the phones, take bookings and look after the amenities. As there was no local information sheets in the rooms, i.e. where to eat , how to operate the TV etc guests were ringing with questions as she was trying to book people in. She also had to deal with people ringing to make reservations which also kept the que of guests waiting. There was no way we could get complementary coffee as there were no cups & no one to get any. Small things that could so easily be put right with some organisation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipz268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
225 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while visiting the National Parks. The location was extremely good for our purposes. The room was fairly modern and clean. Minimal noise was noticed. The hotel staff was very accommodating. Breakfast was the same we've seen at all the Best Westerns except one. This is a large hotel for Best Western & we found the price somewhat higher than others we've stayed at.

Overall very good & we recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteFall, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thanks for choosing our hotel. Price in our area is little high due to National Park location. So please forgive us for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Like many, the Best Western Yosemite Way Station was our "base camp" for the Park. The decor has been updated (sorry forgot to take pics of the room). Modern linens and flat screen TV. Rooms are large and have lots of room for luggage. Breakfast was OK, better than a lot of places (they have eggs, sausage, waffle maker, breads, pastries, cereals, usual breakfast bevvies, and apples/oranges. The hot tub is not super hot but was nice after long hikes (closes at 10 PM).

There are a few restaurants in the Mariposa, we ate at Salvador's and Charles Street Dinner House. Both were tasty, but not OMG yum. Mariposa is a small town with small-town hours. Most things are shut tight at 9 PM, while only a couple are open until 11 PM. After that, all that is available is credit card gas at the pump.


By staying in Mariposa, you are about a 45 min to an hour drive from the North Gate. However, the services and value of staying at the Best Western far out weigh the drive to Yosemite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makawahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteFall, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Nice to have guest like you staying with us & help us guide to achive our goal to better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights to visit Yosemite. Mariposa is a nice little town with an interesting history and this motel exceeded our expectations. We had seen photos in reviews on the Internet in which the rooms didn't look so great, but actually our room was very big, clean and comfortable, with good modern decor and lots of space for our things. Because you can drive up a slope to second floor level, we didn't have to bring our cases up and down stairs. Breakfast was OK - we liked the waffles from the waffle maker, although the rest of the food wasn't great. The pool looked nice but unfortunately we didn't have time to use it. It's a bit of a drive to Yosemite from here but it's worth it to stay in such a nice little town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duchess_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
20.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
13.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
17.4 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
Address: 4999 State Highway 140, PO Box 1989, Mariposa, CA 95338-1299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on "All weather" Hwy 140 in Mariposa, CA., The Best Western - Yosemite Way Station is about 40 miles outside of the west entrance to Yosemite National Park and the valley floor. All of Yosemite is easily accessible from this location. Mariposa is a quaint "1850's gold rush" town that offers excellent dining, shopping and a historical view into the past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yosemite Way Station Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Mariposa
Mariposa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing