We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what I wanted”

Charles Street Dinner House
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Mariposa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dumfries
Level Contributor
143 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just what I wanted”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

All I wanted after a day in yosemite was steak and potatoes. This place served it up. Nice plate, diverse menu, something for everyone. A bit pricey but all things considered just what I wanted. Plenty of food, great staff, friendly, a relaxing night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    211
    43
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super cosy and friendly restaurant with "personality"”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived late and it was 4th of July (national day!) and the restaurant was about the only one open in the city - so it was busy but still the hostess was very welcoming and friendly and signed us up for 25 minutes later - when we arrived 5 minutes early the table was just about ready. We had a lovely time; the atmosphere is just great; "outdated" interior and decorations but in a cool and cosy way so that it just adds lots of warmth and personality. The service was great, and the food was very okay indeed (maybe a bit to the expensive side, but all in all it was totally worth it). I would warmly recommend the restaurant to anyone visiting Mariposa and looking for a unique restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CecilieCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Overpriced food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were in the other night on our trip to Yosemite. We stopped in for a late dinner. I had the seafood pasta special, which the waitress recommended, and forgot to mention was $30!

My husband had a steak. It was cooked correctly, however he wasn't impressed with the flavor.

The ambiance is lacking. The 1970's décor is terrible, and the wine they served us was hot. We were disappointed to say the least, especially after reading such great reviews.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charles Street Dinner House”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Arrived late after a long journey, food amazing, staff are lovely, friendly, funny and polite, ambiance is very nice and relaxing. Would recommend this to everyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Service and Delicious Dinner!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Really enjoyed this cute little restaurant. Walked in after a very hot day in Yosemite. Were seated in a great old-fashioned booth. Water was served immediately and the Menu was explained to us very nicely. Had a delicious salmon dinner and kids meals are also great and even include dessert! Would love to visit again someday.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Azga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Street Dinner House also viewed

 

Been to Charles Street Dinner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing