We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Charles Street Dinner House
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Mariposa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Orange, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This place is BUSY because the food is DELICIOUS, so I highly recommend reservations. The restaurant is owned by the chef, and it's obvious that he takes pride in the food he creates. Everything is made from scratch. We had the mud pie for dessert which is to DIE DIE DIE for. We also ordered coconut prawns as an appetizer that they were also terrific. The beef here is is amazing. Did I mention I liked the food? I would definitely go there again. We ate there two days in a row for dinner.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    220
    45
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weedsport, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pretty darn good ribs for this part of the world!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stopped in based on a recommendation from the hotel desk clerk. This is a very nice little place on a quaint Main Street. The staff was extremely pleasant. The night we were there they featured a rib special. The server advised us that a full helping for each of us would probably be a bit much, so we split a large rack. Excellent ribs, and splitting the rack was a wise decision. Very surprising to find such good ribs up there in the California Mountains. Then, we had desert, wow! We had the home made apple pie with vanilla ice cream and a rum sauce. This is just to good for mortal humans.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank davecm329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a merely average setting.”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We came to spend a few days in Yosemite and this restaurant was located close to our motel. The prices were a little on the high side for us, but we are from the Midwest where things are always less expensive. Our food was delicious and arrived hot and there was a nice variety on the menu. The service was a little slow and our server vanished after taking our order and we were told much later when we had to ask another server for our check that she went home sick.(The hostess brought our food and refilled our water.) The dining area only seemed to be about 3/4 full but the waitress for the next table told them that the restaurant was very busy and she appeared very rushed and stressed. At one point she knocked over a stack of paper cups and kicked them aside instead of picking them up. The bathroom were impossibly tiny....about 4 feet wide and you had to turn sideways to get past the sink and anyone who weighs more than about 225 probably wouldn't fit. So, in conclusion, the food was wonderful and I'm speculating that the service was unusually below average on the night we were there, but we would not go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Djwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Expected better based on reviews”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The place was filled and we were without reservations however they fit us in and we had a table.

We ordered the onion soup and clam chowder for appetizers. The chowder was good however their signature onion soup was terrible. The onions were not caramelized and the broth tasted as if we're made from beef bullion cubes.

The hanger steak was very good and cooked exactly as ordered however the chicken cordon bleu was mediocre.

We were quite disappointed and would rate as average

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knukenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
“Great food!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The fried chicken is divine. Perfectly cooked with a crispy outside and moist inside and the honey glaze is the perfect topper. My husband had fettuccine Alfredo with steak on top and again, the meat was perfectly cooked and seasoned, although the Alfredo sauce could have used more seasoning. We will be going here again the next time we are in Yosemite, try it, you will not be disappointed!

Plan on $20-30/person.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Street Dinner House also viewed

 

Been to Charles Street Dinner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing