We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected find”

Castillo's Mexican Food
Ranked #8 of 41 Restaurants in Mariposa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unexpected find”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We ended up at Castillo's when looking for something to eat on our way out of Yosemite. We had our eye on another place in town, but couldn't find nearby parking, and traveling with a baby and 3 adults we opted for the closest restaurant to where we could park the car. Service was fast, friendly and the place was crowded on a Tuesday evening. Enjoyed the salsa, burrito, taco that we had. Very small place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeattleSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    91
    31
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Taco Tragedy”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The food was mediocre at best. My favorite item was the chips and salsa and it went downhill from there. I will say the service was really good, but I would definitely not recommend the tacos.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Standing_Tall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“local choice”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Living in this town, it is nice to have some very good restaurants. One is Castillo's. The service is great, the atmosphere of this small place is just right for a Mexican food place. Many menu choices, and having tried most of them, they are excellent. We especially like their salsa.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cuestaroble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

You can find authentic dishes here. The food is fresh and the service good. It is the only place for Mexican in Mariposa that I will go!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Nice mexican joint”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We ordered a bunch of veggie burrito and chicken burrito. All the dishes were super, very delicious and filling. The chips and gucamole were ok, but the burritos were very fresh and tasty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mendiratta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castillo's Mexican Food also viewed

 

Been to Castillo's Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing