We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only if there is no where else..”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Yosemite Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yosemite Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Only if there is no where else..”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The proprietor's were pleasant enough, the breakfast was fine - cereal, coffee, waffles, juice- when traveling with kids , it helps to have breakfast available as soon as they are up. However, the pool is tiny, and the hot tub was not heated at all, and neither was very clean. I had to go to the office to ask for pool towels and extra towels for our family of 4.There were only 2 towels and 1 hand towel in a room with 2 queen beds , bathroom very tiny, not even a box of kleenex. No place to hang anything, and while I think the sheets were clean, there was not even one extra pillow. The room was like an oven when we entered it, and the air conditioner was noisy and not very effective. All this for 200 a night. We booked late, so we had to take it, but my advice is book ahead and don't get stuck. We did enjoy a very nice dinner at the China Station in Mariposa though!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    31
    25
    40
See reviews for
37
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed here as it was one of the only available motels close to Yosemite park when we decided to make last minute trip. Pluses: Helpful attitude among employees; room was clean and looked pretty new; Minuses: 36 miles to park (by third day got a little tedious); air conditioning a bit noisy and hard to control; breakfast offering somewhat limited. Nice market in town with deli, bakery and pharmacy - food in park was actually very good but difficult to get due to limited parking and facilities so bringing sandwiches and drinks with you saves major time and hassle. One tip - if arriving from So Cal late at night, highway 140 from Merced is a virtual straight-line and easy drive from Merced as opposed to the twisting mountain roads of highway 41 and 49 through Fresno (even though its 50 miles from Fresno to Merced but that's only some 40 minutes of easy driving on I-99)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caltrav2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Nice surprise, clean nice size room with a flat screen tv. Nothing special but this place works for overnight stay

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Room was dingy and not very clean, air conditioning noisy (it was very hot) and not particularly effective (on coldest setting, it never really cooled the room down), bed had a huge piece of plywood under the mattress - stuck out all the way around (a definite threat to one's shins) rate was higher than we were told when it was booked - breakfast was in a tiny, hot room, pool was a postage stamp size in the parking lot and when we said (at 7 am) that we would not be staying they turned our tv off - could not watch morning news - - paid $170 for a very unpleasant experience - moved across the street to the MIner's Inn - paid $160 - had a larger, immaculate room, great pool, friendly staff and had a wonderful experience. In the future I would sleep in my car before I stayed at the Yosemite Inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patches34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mariposa hotels

Bear
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Must say, with the confusion of what the Best Western advised us when being transferred to their "sister-site" and then showing up and the Yosemite Inn not being a chain hotel/motel, I was a bit concerned. But, let me just say - this establishment is clean, comfortable (the bed was the best the entire trip - which includes my in-laws place), and safe. We had the most pleasant stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delaware3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I note that this hotel is listed as "Yesomite Inn" when it ought to be "Yosemite Inn". Ah, the challenges of spelling. We spent a night at this place, and it was okay. Just okay. The good news is the nice location, easy walking to dinner at the Miner's Inn restaurant. The room was large and very quiet, and had been recently renovated (paint, bathroom floor and fixtures). On the downside, it was spartan. No lamp on the desk, no floor lamp by the easy chair, no alarm clock, no coffee pot. That would have been okay if the price were not $135 per night. We expect more for that cost.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
162 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

GPS direction was bad and didn’t take us to the hotel. The hotel address has Jones St. but don’t drive down Jones St. to get there. It’s very easy to find if you look at the map. It’s across from the Visitor Center, across from Miner’s Inn , a bit up the hill from Jones St. You can’t see the motel from Jones Street since it’s located uphill. It’s much easier to get there by taking the main road, Rt. 140, at the visitor center, turn right into Jones St. then an immediate left up the small hill is the entrance. This motel was renovated, so that it doesn’t look old like others in the area. Nicely painted red door, spacious room with 2 queen beds, clean carpet, renovated bathroom with granite tiles, continental breakfast at a small room by the office. We walked to the strip with restaurant easily. It’s no thrill but clean and neat. A good choice to stay overnight before going to or coming from Yosemite Park. This place is nicer than the Quality Inn and for a better price. This is not a chain place, It’s independently own. The owner is no non- sense and straight forward, and take good care of his property.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeL_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
13.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
1,953 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
0.6 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
17.1 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Inn

Property: Yosemite Inn
Address: 5180 Jones St., Mariposa, CA 95338
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Ownership and Management, Yosemite Inn has under gone an extensive remodel this year in January of 2011. Yosemite Inn is located across from the Visitor Center and only 45 minutes to the Yosemite Valley. The small and beautiful town of Mariposa provides a variety restaurants, shops, and live entertainment with-in walking distance. The Yosemite Inn also is also proudly known for having the largest and cleanest rooms in town. Come visit us and our friendly staff on your way to Yosemite and you will be glad you chose Yosemite Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yosemite Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel Mariposa
Ec Hotel Mariposa
Ec Hotel Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing