We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food!”

High Country Health Foods & Cafe
Ranked #13 of 37 Restaurants in Mariposa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Paula and Bob Pickard, the owners of High Country Health Foods Store and Cafe have been proudly serving the Mariposa Mountain community for the past 25 years. Recently the business has expanded into a new facility which is 3 times larger. The family look forward to the next chapter of High Country which includes a Juice Bar, Fresh Organic Produce, Local meats and eggs, and speciality grocery items.
Aosta, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Probably the absolutely best lunch we had along our three-weeks trip across the usa...
Free wifi, healthy and tasteful food served by young smiling buddies who made up our day, with amazingly honest prices.
Thank you :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank extranjero_volante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mariposa, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great healthy alternative for eating out or shopping”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Small but well stocked market with just about anything you are looking for including fresh produce, cheeses and most importantly Italian gelato. Had lunch to go and the sandwiches, quiche and soup were great. Prices were fair and it's great to have as an alternative to the norm in Mariposa.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love this place -”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The biggest complaint? I don't find myself in town at lunchtime often enough to dine there more frequently! We love the offerings at High Country - imaginative sandwiches/lunchfare with some daily specials; the food is always fresh, quickly prepared and delivered to your table...and very reasonably priced. We're looking forward to their new, even more spacious location opening in a few months right across the parking lot from the current store. Attached health food store with a great selection of organic produce - heck, we're lucky to have such a place in little ol' Mariposa!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaestroLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Owner at High Country Health Foods & Cafe, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you! We value you as a customer and please let us know if you would like us to stock any favorite items in our new location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lucky find!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this place on a family vacation. They have excellent healthy food at very reasonable prices. Everyone found something they really liked.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyBoyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Owner at High Country Health Foods & Cafe, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you Jim! We appreciate your feedback. We hope you visit us again in our new location which is 3 times larger!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great place for healthy sandwich”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great place to drop in for a healthy lunch. Sandwiches are all unique and creative. Most of them are named after local landmarks or towns. Offer vegetarian bean burrito occasionally which is worth the purchase.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mtngran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Owner at High Country Health Foods & Cafe, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback! Please stop in again as we are expanding our menu and would love some suggestions on names for new items. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Country Health Foods & Cafe also viewed

 
Mariposa, CA
 

Been to High Country Health Foods & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing