We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place -”

High Country Health Foods & Cafe
Ranked #11 of 43 Restaurants in Mariposa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy, Soups
Description: Paula and Bob Pickard, the owners of High Country Health Foods Store and Cafe have been proudly serving the Mariposa Mountain community for the past 25 years. Recently the business has expanded into a new facility which is 3 times larger. The family look forward to the next chapter of High Country which includes a Juice Bar, Fresh Organic Produce, Local meats and eggs, and speciality grocery items.
Restaurant details
Description: Paula and Bob Pickard, the owners of High Country Health Foods Store and Cafe have been proudly serving the Mariposa Mountain community for the past 25 years. Recently the business has expanded into a new facility which is 3 times larger. The family look forward to the next chapter of High Country which includes a Juice Bar, Fresh Organic Produce, Local meats and eggs, and speciality grocery items.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The biggest complaint? I don't find myself in town at lunchtime often enough to dine there more frequently! We love the offerings at High Country - imaginative sandwiches/lunchfare with some daily specials; the food is always fresh, quickly prepared and delivered to your table...and very reasonably priced. We're looking forward to their new, even more spacious location opening in a few months right across the parking lot from the current store. Attached health food store with a great selection of organic produce - heck, we're lucky to have such a place in little ol' Mariposa!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MaestroLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Owner at High Country Health Foods & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you! We value you as a customer and please let us know if you would like us to stock any favorite items in our new location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 77 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this place on a family vacation. They have excellent healthy food at very reasonable prices. Everyone found something they really liked.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MonkeyBoyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Owner at High Country Health Foods & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you Jim! We appreciate your feedback. We hope you visit us again in our new location which is 3 times larger!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great place to drop in for a healthy lunch. Sandwiches are all unique and creative. Most of them are named after local landmarks or towns. Offer vegetarian bean burrito occasionally which is worth the purchase.

Thank Mtngran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Owner at High Country Health Foods & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your nice feedback! Please stop in again as we are expanding our menu and would love some suggestions on names for new items. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

A wonderful little restaurant and health food store. The sandwiches and desserts were great. Found out about this restaurant from a local at the library. It is tucked away, but not too hard to find. Organic and veggie options. Order from the counter and wait at your booth. Check it out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dbinhou7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

An unexpected surprise in a small town where I only expected burger joints and the typical greasy food: This place has a great variation of meat and veggie sandwiches, and the store next door has loads of organic fare. They've even sold us a smaller portion of hummus straight from the restaurant to-go for our corn chips.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chillu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Country Health Foods & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to High Country Health Foods & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing