We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A PLACE TO RETURN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A PLACE TO RETURN”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights during our trip in Yosemite Park.
Although it was 45 min. from the park, that was a great place to be.
Our hosts Michael,Lizzie and Nora gave us the best hospitality they can give.
We feel like at home.
A few things made it a best place to return like : free drinks,tea,coffee,snacks,
the possibility of making laundry and use a dryer, very good breakfast and of course
the honey-suckers.

Room Tip: All room are o.k.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISRAEL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
129
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
302 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here one night during an extended visit to Yosemite. It is a fairly convenient drive to the park, and offers tons more charm than staying in Mariposa. We had the complete run of the place and there was ample access to snacks, beverages, etc. Ours was a one night stay, and I would recommend more than that to get a more complete and satisfying experience. The rooms had their own baths, and were a good size. The host met us at the door, welcomed us, and showed us all that was available. When we explained that we would be leaving in the morning before breakfast, he made sure to point out that we could help ourselves to the snacks and fruit to use the next day, and left out cereal, dishes, and silverware for our use the next morning. (The Costco microwave bacon was great.) There were dozens of hummingbirds at the feeder at times, and I was greeted by a flock of wild turkeys when I started loading up the car the next day. My only complaint was that breakfast was served at 8:30, which is a bit late if you want to have a full day in Yosemite. Like I previously mentioned, we were able to make our own breakfast before we left, but perhaps having something set aside in the refrigerator to warm up for the guests who get up and out early and make their preference known in advance would be in order.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parksvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice B&B. The people who run it are exceptional. We really had a good time there. It is close to Yosemite. It's about 40 to 45 miles away. The Highland House had everything we needed. They are very hospitable. You could help yourself to food and beverages. It is a very clean, cozy, make-yourself-at-home B&B. Mike, the owner, is a very nice guy. I wished we had more time to spend, but he was on his way to Fresno as we we're coming back from Yosemite. The ladies who work there Lizzy, and Nora, are very nice and accommodating. We bought steaks in town (Mariposa), and grilled them on the grill at the B&B. This is a seasonal B&B. We hope that we will return one day on another journey. Thank you to Lizzy, Nora, and Mike for such a wonderful stay!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mdsanoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Selected in advance through TripAdvisor. Pity we only used this as a launch pad for Yosemite. Manageable 15 mins from main road means peace and quiet in the woods. Entertained by hummingbirds. Very hospitable trusting generous (fruit, soft drinks, snacks for the car) pool room, guest lounge, exceptional value. Clean rooms, comfy bedding. NB stairs

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REGards-JNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Mike Comerford is an engaging and very gracious host, and his Highland House is everything you would expect in a bed & breakfast. Be prepared to be out in the middle of nowhere ... the house is several miles off the main road, and quite a distance from the nearest town.

We stayed in the Spring Creek room, one of three rooms that are offered. Nicely decorated and so comfortable, it has its own bathroom, which is very spacious and well-appointed.
Mike welcomed us in to his wonderful place, gave us a tour of the house and its amenities, and basically threw it open to us as though we were visiting family. Fully stocked pantry and refrigerator were ours to enjoy, including wonderful baked goods. Guests who will be staying a while are encouraged to cook in the kitchen, too.

A game room with pool table and big home theater had a refrigerator fully stocked with soft drinks that we were encouraged to enjoy. There is also wi-fi for the guests, as well as a pc with printer for guests to use - very convenient.

Mike tells us that the place was once owned by Cheryl Ladd, the actress. The place really is a gem, and Mike and his staff are so laid back and welcoming. Mike is friendly, a raconteur, and only too willing to share his tips and suggestions on what to see and do at Yosemite.

Norah put breakfast out for us and the other guests at 8:30 - and a very hearty breakfast it was! While we sat in the dining room, we could watch the very active hummingbird feeders right outside the window.

If you are planning to spend several days at Yosemite, the Highland House is the perfect place - well situated between the southern entrance and the El Portal entrance to the park.

Room Tip: The Spring Creek room is comfy, quiet, and just right for two romance seekers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doustoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were on a honeymoon road trip and stayed for just one night.

The location is very isolated, quiet and serene- perfect. Hummingbirds fed from sugar solution in feeders and there was even an appearance by a wild deer!

This place is a bit different to most places we stayed in that you feel like you are living in somebody's home, which you are!
We were greeted by a very friendly lady who showed us to our room, we were told we could help ourselves to anything we wanted in the fridge or cakes in the kitchen. We even got the opportunity to do some washing, which was fab!

The breakfast was incredible, a different lady arrived at the crack of dawn and started baking and preparing food, the array of food on the table was incredible, there were 2 other couples had breakfast with us that were also staying, both very pleasant and interesting to chat to.

I could not recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

WOW, Highland House is truly an outstanding Bed & Breakfast Inn. This charming country cottage is located about 11 miles from Mariposa. The Inn sits on a secluded, 10 acres of land that is heavily wooded and backs onto the Sierra National Forest. The Inn is located between both major entrances to Yosemite National Park, making it an ideal place to stay overnight between day trips. The Owner (Mike) and Staff (Nora and Lizzie) are great people who go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. They make you feel at home from the moment you arrive until you depart. Nora or Lizzie prepares an excellent full breakfast which changes each morning. Snacks and beverages are provided as well. There are three very comfortable guest rooms upstairs. You have access to the downstairs common areas of the home including the living room, dining room, game room, exercise room, kitchen and laundry room. During our stay, some guests cooked their evening meals and did laundry. The only negative is that you won’t want to leave. The Inn is charming and comfortable, the Owner and Staff are awesome, and Yosemite National Park and the surrounding countryside are (of course) spectacular.

One thing to keep in mind… Use your GPS with caution and stay on the paved roads while driving in the Yosemite area. There are maps and directions on the Highland House Bed & Breakfast Inn website.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DFWTraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
23.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
8.5 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
1,954 reviews
10.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
7.1 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Highland House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3125 Wild Dove Ln, (outside of Yosemite National Park), Mariposa, CA 95338-9037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover beauty and seclusion in the High Sierra of Mariposa County just minutes from Yosemite National Park and other local highlights. Select one of three luxurious guest rooms for a good night's rest. Enjoy a game of pool or watch a movie from our video collection. When you awake you'll enjoy a bountiful and unforgettable breakfast before setting off for your day of relaxation or adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Highland House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing