We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel for Yosemite Lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel for Yosemite Lodging”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

About forty minutes away from the entrance to Yosemite, Comfort Inn was a cozy place to rest your head after hiking. The rooms were on the smaller side with a window unit for AC and heat. The wallpaper in our room was stapled together in places but the room was clean and suited our needs. My one lament was that there was no refrigerator or microwave in the room and instead a community fridge in the hotel lobby. Joyce was a pleasure, checking us in at 2 a.m. after we drove from San Francisco. Breakfast was great - waffles, eggs, sausage, apples- everything to get going before a hike.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ustlerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    175
    136
    49
    34
See reviews for
152
191
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I travel to Mariposa frequently for business and have stayed here many times. Always clean. A short block off the main street so no highway noise. Price is very reasonable in my opinion. Internet can be a bit slow, but that is a common complaint I hear from local residents. Biggest complain is no fridge or microwave in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation and for returning to stay with us many times! Our guests are pleased to find clean, comfortable rooms on a quiet hillside above Mariposa's historic downtown. Lodging in Mariposa is much more economical than within Yosemite National Park, and the West Entrance is just 32 miles from Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. If you're on Facebook and want more information about Yosemite, go to Yosemite Travel Tips and Insider Information for Mariposa County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at this Comfort Inn September 2013. The hotel is older, park at the door spread across a couple of buildings. The staff was friendly. The rooms had a flat screen TV, but no refrigerator. The town was in walking distance, as were a few small local restaurants. The town is located about an hour from Yosemite, and although being expensive, is much cheaper than staying in the park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HunkyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Yes, lodging at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway is more economical than properties within and directly outside Yosemite National Park. We offer value --just 32 beautiful miles from the West Park Entrance, clean, comfortable rooms, deluxe breakfast buffet and WiFi included. Now you know that Mariposa is a great place! Come on back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I was there with couple of my friends visiting Yosemite. Staff was very friendly, and the rooms were excellent. Nice location as well, on top of the hill overlooking the town of mariposa. Lots of nice restuarants to eat around. The breakfast had lot of variety and is excellent. Great Value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAD28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review and praise! Many of our hotel guests comment on their good experiences staying at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. So close to Yosemite National Park, we are privileged to provide clean, quiet, economical lodging to the Park's visitors. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Location is convenient and interesting drive to Yosemite. Staff was very helpful in finding local eating establishments and were knowledgeable about park. Rooms were clean but older design with limited parking. Breakfast was good.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HappyMama333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Just 32 miles from the West Entrance to Yosemite National Park, Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway in Mariposa, CA is a great place to stay because our staff is friendly, our rooms are clean, and our deluxe breakfast buffet is delicious! Thank you for your great review! Mariposa is a great place! Come on back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This motel is located at the top of a hill overlooking the quaint town of Mariposa. The management is very helpful and welcoming upon our arrival. It is a two block walk to town but is pretty steep for the elderly. Best to take the car if you have physical handicaps. We would return for a night away from the business since it is only a forty-five minute drive from our city. In another forty-five minutes you can enter Yosemite National Park. We love the Sunday brunch at Miner's Inn although the Inn offers the standard motel breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground level. There are no elevators. Rooms at the rear of the motel are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenitygardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Welcoming guests from all over the world, our front desk staff are available 24 hours a day and we are happy to help make your stay comfortable. Place your special requests, such as a ground floor room, when making the reservation. And come back and stay with us again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Great little place to stop for a night of two. Mariposa has some great food too! Management was nice, rooms were clean and quite, and the area seemed safe and fun loving. Would definitely recommend! Check out the town too, people are great and the Sugar Pine Cafe is fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you so very much for your recommendation for our hotel and our town folk, too. Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway is one of the best places to stay when visiting Yosemite National Park - just 32 miles form the West Entrance. We’re one block from historic downtown Mariposa, our rooms are clean and quiet, and deluxe breakfast buffet is included. Mariposa is a great place so come on back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
13.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
1,953 reviews
20.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
17.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Address: 4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Yosemite National Park? Stay on a quiet mountainside above California's historic gold mining town of Mariposa, 32 miles West of Yosemite. Wake up to a deluxe hot breakfast buffet, swim in the seasonal pool and spa, and enjoy free WiFi in all guest rooms. Walk to nearby restaurants, gift shops, wine tasting, brew pubs and art galleries. Open all year, Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway offers reasonable rates and convenience, clean rooms and suites with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway Hotel Mariposa
Comfort Inn Mariposa
Mariposa Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing