We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had a last minute reschedule at Yosemite Park because of the wildfires and was lucky to come across this hotel. Very accommodating staff that went out of their way to make arrangements for our group. Suites were clean and well maintained, and throwing in breakfast was great.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

During the Yosemite Rim Fire, many visitors were forced to find alternative arrangements. At Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway in Mariposa, we are glad to provide clean, comfortable, convenient accommodations. Guests often comment on our friendly staff, beautiful location, and deluxe hot breakfast buffet. Thank you for your generous appreciation. Come back and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 497 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you are not staying inside yosemite, this is the perfect place to stay the night before you go the national park....Nice rooms, great location just one hour away from the park...good decent breakfast and good activities for children...very helpful front desk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank umang166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your favorable review! We are the perfect place to stay when visiting Yosemite National Park, not only because of our great location, nice rooms, ample breakfast and helpful front desk staff. Mariposa is also a great place to visit, too. You are welcome back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you haven't booked anything around Yosemity, you can still find a room in this place! Very clean and friendly stuff, not expensive although you pay for what you get (one night only to get some sleep before entering Yosemity)

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank ADM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Guests visiting Yosemite are happy with our clean rooms and friendly staff, too. It's good to get a good night's rest before you go into the park. Thank you for your fine recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Needing a place to stay on our way to Sequoia found this place through Priceline. Hotel consists of multiple one story buildings. Spacious and clean rooms. Very nice and attentive staff. Complimentary breakfast with hot and cold items, enough to make it till lunch at least. Mariposa is a great little minerstown with restaurants, shops and great atmosphere just to walk around in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review of Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway in Mariposa just 32 miles from the West Entrance to Yosemite National Park. We're glad you joined the many satisfied guests who stay with us. Guests are often pleased with our friendly and helpful staff, nice and clean rooms, and deluxe hot breakfast buffet each morning. Our historic mining town is great to stroll around, and there are lots of good restaurants to choose from, too. Come back and stay with us again anytime! You are welcome here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had chosen Mariposa as a base for exploring Yosemite National Park after changing our original plans due to the Rim Fire, which left stretches of HWY 120 closed.

We changed our plans quite close to the date we travelled, which meant we weren't really sure what to expect, either from the town or from the Comfort Inn. Despite the fact that the hotel is clearly visible from HWY 140, I still overshot 4th Street - so be ready to turn around if you do the same.

It was great to be able to park in the shady, short-stay parking spot outside Reception on such a hot day. Receptionist Patti gave us a friendly welcome, explained everything we needed to know and gave us a detailed map of the town. Finding your way around Mariposa is easy because most of the commercial properties line HWY 140 and they are almost all within a 1-mile stretch of road.

The Comfort Inn is a handsome property. Its two main blocks flank a spacious parking lot and there is enough planting to make it fit comfortably in its magnificent surroundings. The rooms are clean, spacious and well equipped and the windows have heavy fly screens so that you can enjoy fresh air during the night and remain bite-free. The accommodation felt safe and noise levels from general activity in and around the hotel were much lower than we expected.

There is a degree of traffic noise from the intersection of HWY 140 and HWY 49, but it doesn't continue into the night and it doesn't start at the crack of dawn. Breakfast was self-service and their coffee, orange juice, yoghurts, scrambled eggs and toast were available in sufficient quantities to fuel us up for our big exploring day.

The hotel occupies a commanding spot above the road and this pretty town, and the trade-off for any road noise you hear is the superb view of the mountains. It definitely inspires you to plan a great day in whichever part of Yosemite National Park you head for.

I'm planning to write reviews of other amenities in Mariposa, but I'll close this one by saying that we were relieved to have found ourselves in such a lovely spot.

Room Tip: It looks like north-facing rooms may have less traffic noise but it's worth checking other revie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisJMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

"Such a lovely spot and a handsome property with a superb view of the mountains." Thank you for your praise! Thank you for taking the time to share how much you liked staying at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. Mariposa is a great place so come on back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We are platinum elite members, always stay at Choice Hotel properties, prefer Comfort inn/suites. This one way too expensive, tiny room. Requested king bed room, but had to move to another room due to lack of AC. No room available in same building, no luggage cart & I walk w/ cane, so had to take a room w/ 2 queen beds next door -- even more crowded. Would not stay here again. When reported AC not working, clerk refused to believe and said to give it a couple of hours to cool (he did something inside the machine).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We appreciate all information we receive from our guests and we take steps to insure problems are resolved. We sincerely apologize for your inconvenience. The standard air conditioning units found in hotel rooms are not quiet, but they do cool the room down nicely with our warm summer California climate. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Normally stay at Choice Hotel properties but made a mistake with this one. We had a two bedroom suite that is very dated. It's large and that is good but it needs to be remodeled drastically. It is convenient to Yosemite (about an hours drive). The breakfast was OK but not as good as other properties.

Room Tip: If you have alot of people in your party the two bedroom suite would fill your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnF023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for commenting on your stay with Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. Our two bedroom suites are appreciated by larger parties. We are convenient to Yosemite and many of our guests are very happy with our deluxe hot breakfast buffet of scrambled eggs, sausages, two kinds of waffles, pastries, muffins, 2 kinds of toast, 3 kinds of cereal, milk, yogurt, fruit and fruit juices, coffee and teas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
20.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
13.6 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#2 of 6 in Mariposa
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
23.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Address: 4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range: $82 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Yosemite National Park? Stay on a quiet mountainside above California's historic gold mining town of Mariposa, 32 miles West of Yosemite. Wake up to a deluxe hot breakfast buffet, swim in the seasonal pool and spa, and enjoy free WiFi in all guest rooms. Walk to nearby restaurants, gift shops, wine tasting, brew pubs and art galleries. Open all year, Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway offers reasonable rates and convenience, clean rooms and suites with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway Hotel Mariposa
Comfort Inn Mariposa
Mariposa Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing