We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and location for Yosemite and friendly staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value and location for Yosemite and friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed for two nights. Convenient location for us as we wanted to see the giant sequoia's at the southern entrance as well as the Yosemite valley. Mariposa is a cute town with plenty of good food choices.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Yosemite is such a beautiful place to be that many of our guests say they wish they could stay longer. Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway is very convenient to Yosemite Valley and the Giant Sequoias. Mariposa is a very cute place to visit, a historical 1849 Gold Rush town, and we have lots of good restaurants, shops and art galleries. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    173
    134
    48
    33
See reviews for
150
189
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor michigan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for one night before going to Yosemite and were very pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room clean and well appointed. Nothing fancy but more than acceptable. Having scheduled our trip only a few weeks before, there was nothing closer to Yosemite available. It was an easy and beautiful 45 minute drive to Yosemite and the nice little town of Mariposa was a great place to spend the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Guests who stay at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway in Mariposa are pleasantly surprised with their stay as our rooms are reliably clean and comfortable, our staff is friendly and helpful, and our full, hot breakfast is well appreciated. With Yosemite so closeby, Mariposa is a great place to visit and stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Clean establishment with nice pool and hot tub. Pleasant drive to Yosemite and good to get away from the hustle and bustle of Yosemite's crowds. Only thing is that it would be great to have a fridgein the room. Breakfast basic but sufficient to get you going for the day. Overall staff were friendly but lady who does the breakfast needs to be more accommodating toguests who didn't know how to ue equipment - her tone was a bit sharp.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilsongr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your comments. Yes, guests find clean rooms and a quiet, hillside pool and spa refreshing. Yes, the drive from Mariposa to Yosemite is beautiful along the Wild and Scenic Merced River. We do have a fridge for guest use in the breakfast room. Many guests are quite pleased to have a hot, all--you-can-eat breakfast buffet of scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, pastries, muffins, toast, cereals, milk, yogurt, fruit and fruit juices, coffee and teas. Our new breakfast hostess and front desk staff are happy to help make your stay at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is renovated from a older establishment. The breakfast is less than adequate. Loved the pool. The older rooms have poor air conditioning and old TV sets. Also understand that Mariposa, Ca. is at least 60 minutes from the entrance to Yosemite. After a full day in the sun at the National Park it is a long ride to the hotel. If you can find a place closer, take it.

Room Tip: Pick the newer building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memmottrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Mariposa is just 32 miles from the West Entrance to Yosemite National Park along the Merced River. Guests at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway enjoy a hot breakfast buffet of scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, pastries, muffins, toast, cereals, milk, yogurt, fruit and fruit juices, coffee and teas. Hotels located closer to Yosemite are higher priced and do not include breakfast during high season. Air conditioning often needs to be run for 20 minutes in order to cool a room, depending on the weather. So glad you enjoyed our quiet, hillside pool and spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mariposa hotels

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Overall the hotel was a nice stay, walking distance to anything in town, clean rooms, nice staff. The breakfast is good, not great, but its more than I expected. There are only two things from me giving a five star rating. I had no refrigerator in my room, and they should really invest in some outside chairs, and small bistro tables for the large walkway outside the rooms. I found that I liked to sit outside and read, but we had to do it on the ground. Overall nice place and I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Watsonx11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your great review and for enjoying our clean rooms and nice staff. Guests are often very pleased to learn we offer a hot breakfast buffet, too. Our pool and spa deck is the most picturesque area to sit and relax. Mariposa is a great place - come on back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

A bit worn but clean. We stayed in one of the 2-bedroom suites. The suites are in separate buildings a few yards up the hill from the main hotel. One of the buildings has the hotel pool out front so I imagine it could be a little noisy, we were in the other building which was very quiet. If you book a suite I recommend you request the building away from the pool.

One nice aspect of the 2-bedroom suite is there are 2 full bathrooms. Our suite was very spacious. The breakfast was typical hotel fare, won't win any culinary awards but will fill you up and is included with your room. Would be nice to see them add some flat screen TVs vs the old tube TVs we had in our suite. The price for our suite was $220, not cheap, but I felt it was reasonable given the space and the extra bathroom.

There had a lot of trouble with their WiFi when we were there. Didn't work the 1st day and then worked but SLOW.

If I were in Mariposa again, I would definitely consider staying here again, but I'd also probably look around at the prices for other hotels in Mariposa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crash_t51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are happy to offer clean, spacious family suites as well as a full breakfast buffet hot every morning. Some suites even have direct access to our seasonal pool and spa. I'm sorry you had trouble with the WiFi. We will be replacing the TV soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We love the town of mariposa!!! But we wish we would have stayed in a different hotel in town. I could go on and on but I will just say this: when I grabbed a fresh wash cloth from the towel rack in the bathroom, there was a long black hair in it. BLEH! (My hair is short and brown) not to mention the Stains on the walls and couch... Just skip it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Legg_rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are very sorry that you had a bad experience with a towel. We have high cleanliness standards and strive to be sure all rooms and clean and comfortable. Thank you for letting us know of your experience. We will alert our housekeeping staff and strive to provide clean towels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
13.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
20.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
17.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
0.8 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Address: 4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Yosemite National Park? Stay on a quiet mountainside above California's historic gold mining town of Mariposa, 32 miles West of Yosemite. Wake up to a deluxe hot breakfast buffet, swim in the seasonal pool and spa, and enjoy free WiFi in all guest rooms. Walk to nearby restaurants, gift shops, wine tasting, brew pubs and art galleries. Open all year, Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway offers reasonable rates and convenience, clean rooms and suites with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway Hotel Mariposa
Comfort Inn Mariposa
Mariposa Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing