We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quiet, as the name states "Comfort."” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
317 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Quiet, as the name states "Comfort."”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Friendly staff and helpful on info.
We stayed one night so we coud tour Yosemite.
The town seemed to shut down early as it is still considered Winter here the second week of March.
Looking for local entertainment in the middle of the week in Mariposa is not fruitful.
The hotel is convient to the entrance to Yosemite, about thirty pretty miles down the road.
One of the few Pet friendly hotels we could find around here with only 1 $15. pet charge. TV had enough local stations to rock you to sleep after a long day in Yosemite.
Mariposa is a quaint little town, and we would have liked to just chill there longer but duty calls.

Room Tip: Unless ou don't mind stairs, ask for a first floor. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeynbranson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfotInnYosemite, Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Valentine's Day is a great time to visit Yosmite and stay at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway! We are quiet and one block off the historic downtown, close to lots of great places to eat. So glad you enjoyed our hot breakfast, friendly staff, and clean rooms. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    171
    132
    48
    33
See reviews for
147
188
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed for only one night for a little valentines get away and found the hotel nice. It's a little bit above a basic hotel, room was clean. It's a block off high 49 and that is nice as it's quite, plus it's an easy walk to the main downtown for eats or coffee. There is a liquor store whiten a block. The hotel staff was friendly. Breakfast was above the basic with scrambled eggs and bacon. All in a good place to stay, we would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Royphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
This is a perfect place for a romantic getaway because Comfort Inn Yosemite Gateway is beautiful and quiet, our rooms are clean, our beds are comfortable, and our breakfast is satisfying. We're close to many good restaurants, gift shops, museums, wine tasting, and brew pubs. And of course, Yosemite is so close by. You're welcome back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights to visit Yosemite Park. Mariposa in the winter is a quiet place, nothing much to do. The distance to the Park was okay, it took us about not quite an hour to get there. The hotel is clean and nice. We had a double queen room. For 2 large suitcases we had just about enough space. The bathroom had a leaking sink, but after we reported this to the receptionist it was fixed. It had nice fast WiFi connection. Breakfast was okay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank julaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfotInnYosemite, Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Fast WiFi and clean, quiet rooms are part of what makes guests so happy here at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. Thank you for reporting the leaking sink so we could fix it right way! Come back and staty with us again on your way to Yosemite National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset Village, Bermuda
Level Contributor
333 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We found this place extremely good accommodation & close to Yosemite. We had enjoyed a good drive down from Vacaville by quiet roads & really enjoyed our trip through old mining towns ....arriving in Mariposa we found yet another historically interesting town with many attractive businesses....the staff at the hotel were wonderful, happy & helpful.
Our room was perfect with the car parked right outside it was easy to move our stuff!
....& a great drive to Yosemite from there!
Breakfast was better than the average Comfort Inn & the Hershey's Kisses at reception added a little je ne sais pas !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WishIWasSailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfotInnYosemite, Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Extremely good accommocations! Thank you. We do have wonderful, happy and helpful staff! Yes, you can park right outside your room and we are quiet, off the main road. Our better than average breakfast is one of the many ammenities that help make a great vacation to Yosemite National Park. Glad you enjoyed your stay at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. Come back and stay with us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed there in late May 2011. Good place to stop on the way from Sequoia National Park to Yosemite. Still about 45 miles to the Park, but much better than driving in from one of the larger cities for a couple hours or more. Hotel has multiple buildings, ours was a family suite with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths which was great with 2 teenage girls. A large living area was shared with other rooms in the building- could get the whole building with 5 or 6 rooms if you had a larger group. Rooms were small but clean. Pool was right out side our room and the girls enjoyed the heated pool. Check in and Check out were easy, and we were able to park right next to our building. It is a mountain town, so the nights were chilly but heat worked fine. Not a 5 start hotel, but certainly suitable for a good night sleep on the way to Yosemite, or perhaps on the way back. Room rate was reasonable for a 2 room, 2 bath suite, we just called and made arrangements the day we traveled there.

Just a block or so away are some restaurants, though Mariposa is small and stretched out. Grabbed Subway sandwiches for our lunch in Yosemite. Good grocery store though you'll need directions, not on the main road. Smaller store, part of liquor store, is just south of the hotel. Also has a drug store on the east end of town.

Room Tip: If you have a large group, ask for the family suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaeljones46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your very thorough review of your stay at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves! We are just the perfect place to stay while visiting Yosemite National Park. Mariposa is a great place, so come on back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I wanted to go visit Yosemite National Park in the snow, so we decided to head up there on a Friday night and stay in Mariposa to be closer to the park in the morning.

The room was clean and looks to have had a cosmetic renovation in the not too distant past. However, somethings certainly were not upgraded during that time. One is the the air conditioner/heater. It is very old and loud. When the fan cycles on and off, it is way too easy to wake up from a sound sleep. My wife woke at 4:30 and was unable to get back to sleep.

The bathroom could have had more money spent on it as well. The first issue is the toilet. It is probably one of the smallest toilets I've ever used. They definitely could have spent money on an elongated seat toilet.

The other issue in the bathroom was the shower. First off, the shower head is a low flow head (1.6 gallons per minute). It reminded me of that old Seinfeld episode. It took a while to wet and rinse my body. Also, the shower head was only about 5 feet 1 inch from the ground. This is very low and I had to bend over quite a bit to wash my hair.

We did get to go to Yosemite and arrive fairly early before the Bay Area traffic arrived. It only takes about 35 minutes from the hotel to the gate. This depends on the wait time at the one lane bridge detour by passing the land slide.

If staying in Mariposa, I'd probably stay at another place before trying this one again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidinCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway in Mariposa. We are very sorry the air conditioning unit in your room was not quiet, but we're very glad glad you enjoyed your clean room. Being so close to Yosemite is wonderful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Affordable option for a stay close to Yoseminte National Park. Takes less than two hours to get to the Park. The room was simpe but clean and comfortable, breakfast was good. We left some some of our thing in the hotel and the staff took care of them until we got back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youngmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We're glad you found your room clean, comfortable, and close to Yosemite National Park. Just 32 miles from the West Entrance, Highway 140 is the most direct route to Yosemite Valley Floor. A deluxe hot breakfast is just what guests need before spending the day in one of the most beautiful places on earth. Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#2 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
13.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
20.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
17.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Address: 4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Yosemite National Park? Stay on a quiet mountainside above California's historic gold mining town of Mariposa, 32 miles West of Yosemite. Wake up to a deluxe hot breakfast buffet, swim in the seasonal pool and spa, and enjoy free WiFi in all guest rooms. Walk to nearby restaurants, gift shops, wine tasting, brew pubs and art galleries. Open all year, Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway offers reasonable rates and convenience, clean rooms and suites with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway Hotel Mariposa
Comfort Inn Mariposa
Mariposa Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing