We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Monarch in Mariposa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Miners Inn Motel(Mariposa)(Great Value!)
$189
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$164
$156
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Inn(Mariposa)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$210
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$297
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite(Fish Camp)(Great Value!)
$295
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariposa Lodge(Mariposa)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveler rating
3
26
50
48
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
26
50
48
81
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 208 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We recently stayed in Monarch Inn. It was clean and neat with adequate facilities. The owners were friendly and helpful.The breakfast was not a generous amt. of food but clean and certainly all anyone needed to eat. The pool was good and we enjoyed swimming. We loved the quiet town and walking area and being able to walk to restaurants! If we should be in that area again we will surely stay there..A nice experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Best Western in Mariposa refers people to this hotel when it is overbooked. It looks like it's new from the outside, but on the inside are old, wobbly furniture, old and worn sinks and bath fixtures. It does have an elevator, it's clean, quiet and an OK place to stay, but not a bargain. Breakfast is limited - packaged sweet rolls, some dry cereals. It does have a waffle machine and that's the best bet. The most unpleasant thing was a gallon jug of milk sitting out for use. Managers have very limited English and equally limited interest in customer service. It is unclear when the refurbishment will be completed and whether or not it will include the interior. Still, if you're in this part of the Sierra, hotels can be hard to come by, so it remains an option.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

From the moment we walked into The Monarch Inn we knew we had made a mistake and should have trusted our instincts and walked out.
From the room that was basic and highly overpriced, the decor that was outdated, the swimming pool that was a construction site, the totally inadequate breakfast to the worst manager/ owner we have ever encounted in many years of travel, this place was the worst place we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PMJus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

$125 with Tax for Nothing. We had no lamps, nothing on the walls, no blanket, minimal everything on the bed and a TV that did not work. Communication is poor with Muslim ownership.
Zero Amenities.
Within walking distance to all dining.
Our friends did have a better room. It might be a work in progress, but it would still be a last choice for me.

Room Tip: Try to get a King on main floor, which is 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harley4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Monarch Hotel is now owned/managed by Best Western and is very modern,comfortable, clean, and economical. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the Monarch to anyone looking for accommodations in Mariposa!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyle_Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews