We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Outstanding B&B near Yosemite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poppy Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mariposa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poppy Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding B&B near Yosemite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We only had one day to spend in Yosemite, and were grateful to have found this nearby B&B on Trip-Advisor where we stopped for the night before touring the park the following day.
Amy welcomed us wholeheartedly, explained the many amenities, and introduced us to fellow guests from Taiwan whom we really enjoyed getting to know while enjoying the wine, cheese, crackers and fruit graciously provided. I loved the local red wine and wish I had jotted down the name. (Amy-help?)
The Poppy Room was delightful, and furnishings were cozy. Just outside in the upstairs common area was a nice small fridge with freezer to store our food we had brought along. It was stocked with water and juice for guests as well.
We truly loved the breakfast which Darlene prepared. It tasted even better when eaten outdoors on a large table on the deck overlloking a meadow and pines. I appreciate places that serve REAL maple syrup with their offerings such as their yummy french toast; the juice and fruit were also delicious and fresh. Besides our fellow guests, we also enjoyed the company of a couple of hummingbirds who seemed to check on us almost as often as Darlene did.

As others have mentioned, Amy, Darlene and Mary Ellen all truly go out of their way to share their friendly hospitality. We enjoyed good food, were given great information and met delightful new people anwhile having many warm-heartened laughs during our short stay. I was actually sad that we had only booked one night, and if we return to the park we most definitely will stay at Poppy Hill B&B again !!!
Thanks so MUCH to all three of you, and TripAdvisor too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbill58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
61
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed there for three nights in July 2012 and had a wonderful time. The inn was in a quiet residential neighborhood, a bit hard to find at night but beautiful and peaceful. The owner lady was so generous and the staffs were very helpful, with many books about Yosemite and the area. It's a family run place, that you can enjoy learning about the place and the people.
We saw many wild birds and animals in their yard, while enjoying their outside jet bath and/or having evening drinks on the porches. Each room has its own character and charm.
The breakfasts were plenty and starting at 8 am (or you can ask for a brown bag before that) with great tableware and cutlery set. Every furniture was a real antique, arranged for comfort.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning to go there and definitely stay again if I have a chance.

Room Tip: If you can choose, the second floor rooms may be better for the privacy and the view. The second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nekoya3321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during our 3 day trip to Yosemite and couldn't have been happier. Mary Ellen, Darlene, and Amy were great hosts making us feel at home. The breakfasts were truly wonderful as were the deserts/snacks. Enough good things cannot be said about this B&B!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EyeResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Poppy Hill. The hosts were so accommodating, warm and kind. Breakfasts were wonderful - fresh fruit and a baked dish plus more. When you return at night, there is homemade dessert and wibe and cheese. The whole place is just lovely - beautiful gardens full of flowers and birds, in a peaceful setting and the house feels like a home. I didn't want to leave! I would recommend this b&b highly to those visiting the park.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajarendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Combine the magnificent beauty of Yosemite with the Poppy Hill and you could not have picked a more perfect vacation...Mary Ellen and Amy deserve SIX tripadvisor stars for the truly comfortable accommodations, the spectacular Mariposa location and MOST of all UNSURPASSED FRIENDLINESS and HOSPITALITY....4 Nights and we felt like we were family...an AWESOME place to stay and a SAD place to leave...Love Claire and Jeff

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

As former owners and operators of a b&b, we have to say that Poppy Hill is the very best (including ours) Mary Ellen and daughter, Amy really have it right- from a great welcome at any time of the day (we dropped off our bags in the morning on our way to the park), a beautiful and peaceful setting, lovely home, great bedrooms, inviting common rooms, private outdoor eating areas, and a much needed hot tub after all that hiking. Our final breakfast will long be remembered- the famous apple pancakes (they even shared the recipe) If you are anywhere in the Yosemite area, this is the place to stay and for as many nights as possible. We hated leaving!!! Also the nearby town of Mariposa is fun and we loved the Sugar Pine Cafe which you also recommended- Francette and Bernie

Room Tip: We were in the Iris room- best bed ever- the other rooms looked equally nice- we liked staying on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girardCoronado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Everything was perfect. Beautifully furnished rooms, excellent real food for breakfast and welcoming hostesses. Mary Ellen and Amy go that extra step of providing for all your needs. There were extra snacks, cups of tea and coffee advice about the local restaurants and a hot tub on the deck for tired walkers returned from the park. An excellent location not far from the Yosemete National Park. I can highly recommend that you stay here if you enjoy comfortable country hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forestlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
24.2 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,562 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#2 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
24.1 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
2.7 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy Hill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Poppy Hill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5218 Crystal Aire Dr, Mariposa, CA 95338-9663
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing