We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Creek Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Creek Cabins
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A paradise in Yosemite area! it is in the middle of the mountain, very quiet and very well equiped. The attention of the owner is excellent. We stayed there 2 nights and was awesome. Though it is not inside the park (have to travel 30 min, by car) it is a great place to stay!! We went June 2011

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
23
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Bear Creek Cabins is probably one of the nicest places I know.
It's a paradise in Yosemite. Close to nature and its sounds. If you're lucky you will see a deer or two just outside the cabin door.No mosquitos as far as I could see.
Cabins are big, clean and well equipped.
If you're stressed and need to wind down, this is the place.
Mariposa is only 7 miles away and Yosemite village 35 miles.
Thanks Louann and James for a great stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

It is true that when you first get here, you might feel suspicious of the neighborhood where the cabins are located, but so what? We stayed here for two nights, and nothing weird or scary happened at all! We loved our room! The lady who runs the place is a very nice lady as some reviewers already mentioned. Believe me, once the lady shows up, all of your weird feelings about the place would disappear! The room is very comfortable for us. Very spacious and even has a wide screen flat TV with some decent channels! You can even cook in the room. You will find some cooking utensils, plates, bows, forks, spoons, knives, etc in the room!! Stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coral4981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This place is fabulous! The location is hard to find at night though, and the gps will not work that high up in the mountains. It took us awhile to find it, but once we did the owner came out and she was super nice. It was nice she still came out to greet us although it was around midnight. The room was so clean and the bathroom was a normal size. We said we wished we could have stayed in this cabin for the rest of our trip. She gave us directions to where we were going in the morning. Stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megannnnn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with friends (4 people total) for 4 days last summer and it was fantastic. A lot of the reviews talked about the slummy road on the way up to the main cabin but we didn't mind it. There's no drug deals going on outside or anything like that. It's perfectly safe and peaceful. The owner was super friendly, funny, and made us feel really welcome. The room itself was enough space for 4, (we had cabin number 3) and we loed having breakfast outside and meeting our neighbors around. If you want a camp-like experience without staying in a tent, this place is your best bet. We enjoyed it so much that we are coming back again this year.

Stayed July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Bear Creek cabins at a very reasonable rate ($120/night) in August of 2011. We were in the cabin suite: unit #4 in the main cabin, the end unit. The room was HUGE, with a bedroom upstairs and a queen bed downstairs next to a large living room w/ breakfast area. The bathroom was downstairs - with a tub! It was charming and rustic and the hostess, Lou Ann was very helpful and courteous. There were cooking supplies, dishes & utensils and a full size refrigerator, stove & microwave. The wild blackberries were ripe on the bushes next to our cabin so we had fresh blackberries with our granola on the front porch every morning! We couldn't have loved it more.

We had a new flat-screen TV with, I think, DirecTV although we didn't turn it on while we were there. We also had a fireplace.

Although our unit is called a cabin, it is attached to three other units in one building sharing a deep front porch. Unit #4 is at the far end and we walked past the other three units to get to ours. Having the end unit meant it was the most quiet with only one shared wall and no one walking past our door.

As other people mentioned, you have to drive past some slightly trash places to get here. If that bothers you - DON'T STAY HERE!!!! Also, don't write a bad review because of that - would you want people reviewing your house based on your trashy neighbor down the street?

Anyway, this is not a Hyatt or Comfort Suites/ Ramada so it won't be at that level of cleanliness. If you're expecting that type of room - again, DON'T STAY HERE!!!! The cabins, however, will be infinitely cleaner and cheaper than most of the Yosemite park accommodations. The downside is that the drive is close to 1 hour to get to the park.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in Yosemite National Park and don't want to spend an arm and a leg, this cabin is for you. Situated around 25 miles from the park (45 mins or so depending on traffic), this cabin offers a cheap alternative to the ridiculous amount other cabins charge. The place itself is tucked inside (and very hard to find at night) a compound off the main highway. I agree with the other reviewer about the junk/slum looking cabins on the way to the main cabin itself. But if you get past that, what you'll find is a the main cabin structure, divided into 4 separate cabins (the last one is MUCH bigger than the other 3) sharing a front porch. In front you will see a big grassy area, where the kids can play. The first 2 cabins have 2 beds each and a kitchenette. Each cabin also has a BBQ grill, perfect for grilling your favorite meat while enjoying a bottle of brew. We occupied the first 2, the 3rd one a family from France, and the last cabin is a family from India. Since the cabins share a common front porch, we got to know each other, sampling our different food and enjoying one's company. It was a blast. You can not find this kind of interaction if you would've stayed in a hotel. I would definitely recommend this place if you want to save a ton of $ and meet other interesting people in the process.

Room Tip: Reserve early to get the last cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
7.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
22.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,340 reviews
19.7 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
12.1 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,217 reviews
2.2 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Cabins

Property: Bear Creek Cabins
Address: 6993 Hwy 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bear Creek Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Cabins Hotel Mariposa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing