We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean, well equipped room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
5th (Fifth) Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean, well equipped room”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

LOCATION – Very easy to find, one turning off main highway through the town. Plenty of amenities within walking distance – restaurants, liquor store, petrol station. Mariposa has a homely, quaint feel about it.

ROOM – Spacious with nice décor, spotlessly clean, bright and airy. Murphy bed, sofas, dining table and a large well equipped kitchen. Large cooker, microwave, coffee pot, toaster dishwasher etc. Nice touches like condiments, soda in the fridge etc. Lots of cupboards in the kitchen. Nice bathroom with towels, hairdryer, showercaps but no toiletries. Room has all the home comforts for a longer-term stay.

HOTEL & FACILITIES – Only stayed one night and got there quite late, so can’t really comment, but looks very nice and well kept from outside with a pleasant terrace. Entrance via an intercom where you are given a pass code, which is efficient and straightforward. Free WI-FI

TIP – The blinds in our room did not block out the outside lighting on the terrace. If you are a light sleeper you may need to take an eye mask.

VALUE FOR MONEY – Yes

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Over_Land_And_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    51
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
43
79
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

One big open room with good space for a family of four. Sofa section and kitchen section with all you need and plenty of space around the table. A very nice experience of private housing and the reservations were smoothe. Although choose something closer if you want to be near the northern part of Yosemite NP.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inuit66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

From the outside the 5th Street Inn looks a little worn around the edges. There is no reception you gain entry by ringing someone who gives you a pass number that lets you into the room. Up to this point we were wary of what we might find when we got into the room. We need not have worried.

We stayed in #207 Bridalveil suite. It was immaculately clean, spacious and comfortable. The air conditioning created a cool oasis from a hot day outside. The suite was well equipped apart from some tiny moans listed below. The maid service cleaned the place daily to a high standard. The quality of the place made returning after a hard days toil in Yosemite like coming home. Mariposa is a quaint little town 30 mins from the park and has all of the amenities a visitor could ask for provided by friendly locals.

We would definitely stay again.

The points listed below are minor and more constructive than critical.
1. A folder detailing how everything works and the contents of the kitchen would save visitors a lot of time.
2. Why is there no kettle?
3. Why is there no kitchen linen?
4. We struggled without a bread knife
5. The door in the kitchen leading to?? Needs to have a lock on the suites side of the door so that a guest feels secure.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were disappointed in our stay at the 5th Street Inn.

The rooms, although dated, were clean. Our room (Sierra, #200) was very small; there's not much beyond what you see in the picture. What truly surprised us was the total lack of storage. Aside from the closet, there's nothing - no shelves, no bureau, nothing. The bathroom is equally small and also lacks room for personal items.

However, the thing that really let us down was the absence of any personality or individual attention. Check in and check out are done by phone. We never saw or interacted with any of the innkeepers except on those two occasions. We choose inns and B&Bs for the personal touch they're known for, and 5th Street has none of it.

We'd recommend saving a bit and choosing something of similar quality - like the Best Western - or finding a different option if you're looking for an inn or B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ears20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during our visit to Yosemite. We stayed in the Retreat room and enjoyed the hot tub as well as the peaceful decor. The staff was super friendly- great stay!
The location is nice, too- right in the heart of downtown Mariposa. Great for walking around and visiting the local shops and galleries.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were on a driving trip through the Sierras. Knowing how crowded accomodations get in the summer around the Yosemite area, we reserved rooms ahead of time by searchin on the net. We stumbled across this little gem and decided to give it a try. We've been to Mariposa and Yosemite many times, but usually stay in the hotels along the main street. I called the number and talked to the proprietor. He was friendly and full of information. The check in proceedure seemed a bit strange. There is no check in office, per se. When you get to town, you call the guy (there's a phone near the front of the building if your cell doesn't work). He tells you your room number, based on what you asked for for beds and accomodations, and the code you punch into the keypad on each room. It seemed a little dicey, but we decided to give it a try. It worked like a charm. When we arrived we got our room number (204) and code. The room was immaculate and good-sized. It included a microwave and fridge that contained water and soft drinks. The inn is just a block off the main road, so walking "into town" is a 2 minute process. Unlike some of the lodgings on the main street, there is no traffic noise, so we had a good night's rest (with the exception of someone in the room adjoining ours who had a very, uhhh, "athletic" night early in the evening). I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the area. Only one very small complaint. The curtains on the window were not black out curtains, so a good deal of light from the street lights shown into the room at night. Other than that, the price was good and it was a great value. I generally don't give 5 stars to any business unless it's over the top service. in my scale, 4 stars is very, very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street, so there's not so much light in the room through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

What a great experience! Rooms were very roomy & so convenient location. Stayed in the Bridal Veil. Fully equipped kitchen, fireplace & very comfortable bed. Room was very clean. Can't wait to visit again. What a quaint, friendly town. Nice park & walking path nearby, beautiful setting. recommending it to all my friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
13.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
20.3 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5th (Fifth) Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th (Fifth) Street Inn

Property: 5th (Fifth) Street Inn
Address: 4994 5th Street, Mariposa, CA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5th Street Inn is located in beautiful downtown Mariposa, only 43 miles from the main Arch Rock Valley entrance to Yosemite National Park. Comfortable and clean, the 5th Street Inn is like home away from home. Family suites available. Walk the streets of Mariposa in the summer evenings and enjoy the music, horse drawn carriages and the lovely shops and restaurants. Come, be our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your 5th (Fifth) Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing