We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and relatively close to Yosemite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mother Lode Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mother Lode Lodge
Ranked #17 of 22 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean and relatively close to Yosemite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This was the least expensive place we could find within an hour or so from Yosemite. We booked it the night before we arrived. The room was dated but clean. The staff was nice. We didn't use the pool. We walked to the shops and eateries in town. The office has limited hours and doesn't open until 1 pm. There is a number to call for emergencies. It took is about 1.25 hours to get to Bridal Veil Falls. I would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelswell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    29
    16
    14
See reviews for
14
38
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Welcoming, but dated accommodation and very pricey, but you are within an hour of Yosemite NP.
The lady in reception was most helpful and very polite. Our room was very old school and is in need of refurbishment, as is the pool. It was adequately equipped and the air conditioning was effective. No breakfast option, but we had a fridge and microwave so we catered for ourselves. The town is very pleasant and compact. Plenty of eating options within a short walk. I enjoyed the Prospectors microbrewery round the corner.
Pity about the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepybexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

In 30 years of traveling this great country of ours this is the #1 WORST place I have ever stayed. The room was dirty, the door had a quarter inch crack all the way around the frame. The lock would not have kept a three year old out.
The A/C made the most terrible noise.
The bathroom is 30" wide (no kidding) and the shower was TINY and dirty. There were ants all over the bathroom.
No breakfast and no phone available.
internet was slow as hell.
I have stayed elsewhere in Mariposa but would NEVER (I mean EVER) stay here again and recommend you don't.

Room Tip: The photo shown on the website is NOT a good representation of what you will find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beercheese8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mariposa hotels

Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stopped here for one night en route to Yosemite. It offered a nice pool, which we used on that hot summer day (Aug. 15).
The room was hot too and the aircon took some time to cool it down.
It had a fridge, coffe maker and nice TV plus wi.fi. It was quiet
At 109.89$ and no breakfast it was worth more than it offered.
Clean, neat and an attentive person at the front desk (who gave us good tips for making the best of our day at Yosemite). Located in central Mariposa it was good for what we needed: a place to rest.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AUSTIN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We arrived after a 12+ hour drive. This was probably the 5th or 6th motel we attempted to get a room at. The people were nice and they had 1 room left for $100. Beats $459 in El Portal. Room was clean, no mold in the shower, and the place was quiet. It was nothing special but all 7 of us were happy. Kids loved the pool. Never noticed the noisy a/c, then again, I sleep like a rock. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Clean room (#8) but tiny, suspect this is a converted tool shed, leftover from mining days. Bathroom is a converted CLOSET with Smallest Stall Shower in California. Had to go outside to change your mind. NO PHONE ! Lost remote for (old)TV and Had to move nitestand climb up to operate Air conditioner WEDGED above coat rack, makeshift joint.
Did I say the room is SMALL ? Damned small. One Bar of soap (Small) left for two people.
Water pressure failed when we checked in, later learned incompetent staff person left two hoses running to irrigate some plants,
Sleep in your car...or on the street, Rooms not worth $50....they charge over $130 and look you straight in the eye! We checked out day early, couldn't make it back to S.F. that afternoon.
My duty as an American is to warn you good people....before it's to late......stay away.

Room Tip: Stay away from failing places liike this use "Trip Advisor.com" to get reviews, or AAA, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bullshipper646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were denied breakfast at 8:45!!! and there are mice. DO NOT COME HERE, it's a rip off.
They totally take advantage of their clients.
I can't believe they charged me 50$ for sharing a two beds room with three people.
Also the building gets terribly heat up during the day and the air conditioner takes forever to cool down making a terrible noise.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarvis29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
13.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
0.6 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
3.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
6.2 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Lode Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Lode Lodge

Property: Mother Lode Lodge
Address: 5051 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Lode Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Travelocity so you can book your Mother Lode Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing