We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worst place I have EVER stayed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mother Lode Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mother Lode Lodge
Ranked #18 of 22 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Johnstown, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst place I have EVER stayed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

In 30 years of traveling this great country of ours this is the #1 WORST place I have ever stayed. The room was dirty, the door had a quarter inch crack all the way around the frame. The lock would not have kept a three year old out.
The A/C made the most terrible noise.
The bathroom is 30" wide (no kidding) and the shower was TINY and dirty. There were ants all over the bathroom.
No breakfast and no phone available.
internet was slow as hell.
I have stayed elsewhere in Mariposa but would NEVER (I mean EVER) stay here again and recommend you don't.

Room Tip: The photo shown on the website is NOT a good representation of what you will find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beercheese8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    33
    16
    16
See reviews for
16
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
188 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stopped here for one night en route to Yosemite. It offered a nice pool, which we used on that hot summer day (Aug. 15).
The room was hot too and the aircon took some time to cool it down.
It had a fridge, coffe maker and nice TV plus wi.fi. It was quiet
At 109.89$ and no breakfast it was worth more than it offered.
Clean, neat and an attentive person at the front desk (who gave us good tips for making the best of our day at Yosemite). Located in central Mariposa it was good for what we needed: a place to rest.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AUSTIN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We arrived after a 12+ hour drive. This was probably the 5th or 6th motel we attempted to get a room at. The people were nice and they had 1 room left for $100. Beats $459 in El Portal. Room was clean, no mold in the shower, and the place was quiet. It was nothing special but all 7 of us were happy. Kids loved the pool. Never noticed the noisy a/c, then again, I sleep like a rock. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Clean room (#8) but tiny, suspect this is a converted tool shed, leftover from mining days. Bathroom is a converted CLOSET with Smallest Stall Shower in California. Had to go outside to change your mind. NO PHONE ! Lost remote for (old)TV and Had to move nitestand climb up to operate Air conditioner WEDGED above coat rack, makeshift joint.
Did I say the room is SMALL ? Damned small. One Bar of soap (Small) left for two people.
Water pressure failed when we checked in, later learned incompetent staff person left two hoses running to irrigate some plants,
Sleep in your car...or on the street, Rooms not worth $50....they charge over $130 and look you straight in the eye! We checked out day early, couldn't make it back to S.F. that afternoon.
My duty as an American is to warn you good people....before it's to late......stay away.

Room Tip: Stay away from failing places liike this use "Trip Advisor.com" to get reviews, or AAA, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bullshipper646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mariposa hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were denied breakfast at 8:45!!! and there are mice. DO NOT COME HERE, it's a rip off.
They totally take advantage of their clients.
I can't believe they charged me 50$ for sharing a two beds room with three people.
Also the building gets terribly heat up during the day and the air conditioner takes forever to cool down making a terrible noise.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarvis29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

After a very long day on the road I pulled into the Best Western in Mariposa. They were full but recommended the Mother Lode Lodge down the road. The best that I can say is that the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the water in the shower was hot. .... A lot better than sleeping beside my motorcycle for the night. Let's face it, when you are staying in a fifties style motel you should condition your expectations accordingly but even then I felt that the Mother Lode Lodge came up short. the day was hot and it took the air conditioning unit almost three hours to coole the room down. From there the very old and noisy unit cycled on and off about every fifteen minutes all night long. The room was too small for a chair so I dragged in a white plastic chair to sit in while I watched television on a set older than I took to the dump a couple of years ago. One thing to worry about if you travel by motorcycle is that the units are on a very steep slope and you must make sure to park with turning around in mind. It would be very easy to get trapped in this parking lot with no room to maneuver to get out. The price was comparable with most Best Westerns or modern Motels. In all .... Like I said ... The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the water in the shower hot. Better than sleeping beside my motorcycle therefore two stars.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank maac05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

The place is very basic and the staff was pretty friendly. Mariposa lodge provides good lodging for travelers willing to stop by on their way to Yosemite. We didn't expect nothing apart from a good place to stay for a night and it's just what we got.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wojtek_krakow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#2 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
13.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
6.2 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Lode Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Lode Lodge

Property: Mother Lode Lodge
Address: 5051 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Lode Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Mother Lode Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing