We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The worst motel in 2months of road trip” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mother Lode Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mother Lode Lodge
Ranked #17 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst motel in 2months of road trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were denied breakfast at 8:45!!! and there are mice. DO NOT COME HERE, it's a rip off.
They totally take advantage of their clients.
I can't believe they charged me 50$ for sharing a two beds room with three people.
Also the building gets terribly heat up during the day and the air conditioner takes forever to cool down making a terrible noise.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarvis29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    33
    16
    16
See reviews for
16
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

After a very long day on the road I pulled into the Best Western in Mariposa. They were full but recommended the Mother Lode Lodge down the road. The best that I can say is that the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the water in the shower was hot. .... A lot better than sleeping beside my motorcycle for the night. Let's face it, when you are staying in a fifties style motel you should condition your expectations accordingly but even then I felt that the Mother Lode Lodge came up short. the day was hot and it took the air conditioning unit almost three hours to coole the room down. From there the very old and noisy unit cycled on and off about every fifteen minutes all night long. The room was too small for a chair so I dragged in a white plastic chair to sit in while I watched television on a set older than I took to the dump a couple of years ago. One thing to worry about if you travel by motorcycle is that the units are on a very steep slope and you must make sure to park with turning around in mind. It would be very easy to get trapped in this parking lot with no room to maneuver to get out. The price was comparable with most Best Westerns or modern Motels. In all .... Like I said ... The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the water in the shower hot. Better than sleeping beside my motorcycle therefore two stars.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank maac05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mariposa hotels

Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

The place is very basic and the staff was pretty friendly. Mariposa lodge provides good lodging for travelers willing to stop by on their way to Yosemite. We didn't expect nothing apart from a good place to stay for a night and it's just what we got.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wojtek_krakow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

After traveling for 12 hours, I was looking for somewhere simple and clean to stay. This place was great. Nice, basic, clean place. Reception was helpful and friendly. The person at the front desk stayed late to allow me to check in. Seems to be a family business and I was happy to have stayed there. Wi-fi worked great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

When we phoned we found that the #1 rated Miner's Inn was full but they recommended the Mother Lode Lodge. They must have relatives who own the Mother Lode Lodge. We needed 3 double rooms. We were told they were available but the cancelation period had already ended. We gave our CC number and continued our drive to Mariposa. OMG, no one (upon seeing this place) would pay more than $59/nt. With tax we paid $145 for a large, ill-equipped, room. The beds need replacing. Bring your own soap. The air conditioner was so noisy that we couldn't listen to the tiny TV. Don't stay there until you have exhausted all other possibilities in Marisposa. When we went to the office to complain at 8:30PM we found that it was closed and wouldn't reopen until 1PM the next day. We were long gone by then!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calbear62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

This is a lucky find. Mariposa is a very nice little town, the perfect place from which to stage day trips to Yosemite and the surrounding area. There are lots of hotels in Mariposa, and this is the kind I like the most: A clean, well-kept hotel with comfortable beds, owned and operated by a nice person who's onsite, staffed by helpful, friendly people, close to town but tucked away just enough to provide quiet, privacy, and security. Loved the swimming pool. Once you're there you don't have to drive; you can walk to everything you're likely to need from town. Highly recommend the Mother Lode, will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hyattron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

We were going to stay here, but hearing how the owner spoke to another guest, we went elsewhere. The lady who runs the place must have learnt her skills from Basil in Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebrightstuffdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
13.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
0.2 mi away
5th (Fifth) Street Inn
5th (Fifth) Street Inn
#3 of 21 in Mariposa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Lode Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Lode Lodge

Property: Mother Lode Lodge
Address: 5051 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Lode Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Mother Lode Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing