We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go Local”
Review of Pony Expresso

Pony Expresso
Ranked #11 of 41 Restaurants in Mariposa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come and enjoy the distinctive vibe of Mariposa’s first and largest running coffee house, where good friends gather and new friends meet daily! We are a fun, eclectic shop, voted Mariposa’s Best Coffee 11 years running. Try our wonderful coffee, roasted on the premises, and one of our many homemade menu items. Hang out downstairs with our fun and friendly baristas or chill in our cozy, quiet upstairs loft and utilize our free WiFi.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Go Local”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We like to support local biz when we can so we stopped for a cup of joe to go on our way to Yosemite. Really friendly and upbeat woman helped us out. Good dessert and good coffee to wash it down with! Thanks Mariposa County Visitor Center for suggesting Pony Expresso.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a_couple_from
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Who needs Starbucks?”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

On our way back out of Yosemite we opted for Pony Expresso over Starbucks. Great choice. This great local coffee shop at the end of town from 140 by the Ace Hardware. This place is a real coffee meeting house. They have small rooms to have a conversation or play some games (available). Who would not want to hang out? Yes they do the coffee 10,000 ways, but for me, a good coffee place is just good plain black coffee. Plus some generous blessed lady, paid it forward for part of my bill. Go local, go pony expresso!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ninjadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place for great coffee!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is becoming a regular stop for us... whenever I get within 50 miles of Mariposa, it's pretty hard NOT to come up with a good reason to stop in at the Pony Expresso!! I found this place by accident 3 or 4 years ago, actually it was kind of funny how it happened. First of all, my wife and I are coffee snobs. We roast our own beans at home in a Behmor 1600 roaster, so we know what good espresso is supposed to taste like. We were in Mariposa and went to another espresso shop where a european lady waited on us. We were anticipating great things when we heard her accent, thinking we would get authentic espresso. What a disappointment!! We walked down main street trying to decide if we should pour out our $6 worth of horrid liquid when we saw the sign for Pony Expresso. We went up to the porch and saw Bill roasting beans in a BBQ and we KNEW we were in the right place. After hearing our story, he poured out the horrible brew and refilled our cups with a fantastic americano. The rest is history!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_bidniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible coffee and to-die-for scones”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Truly one of the best coffee places I've been. Coffee is fresh, not scorched, and the pastries are homemade but gourmet. Definitely recommend any flavor of scone, chocolate chip was my favorite. And the tuxedo mocha, yum-my! You couldn't ask for a more friendly, comfortable place to start your morning. Just wish this place wasn't 1,700 miles from my home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice little coffee joint”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Parking was ample, and the coffee shop itself has a good vibe. Service was prompt, and Amy the owner was very nice. Glad we stopped in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pony Expresso also viewed

 

Been to Pony Expresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing