We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our dinner”
Review of Sugar Pine Cafe

Sugar Pine Cafe
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Mariposa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Classic american comfort food,from fresh baked pastries and pies to soups and chili, all made from scratch daily. Great burger, fries and shakes too.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our dinner”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We enjoyed dinner here after a long day hiking at Yosemite. I had the bacon mac and cheese and the butternut squash soup. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food, and the atmosphere was very quaint.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Wish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    181
    47
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sint-Truiden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All American Diner”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Searching for a decent breakfast on our way from El Portal to San Francisco, we ended up at Sugar Pine Cafe. If ever during our three week trip through the USA we visited an 'All American Diner', with all the classic ingredients such as friendly service, honest food and a pleasant atmosphere, this was the one that stood out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
402 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Sour taste...”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Having spent two days in El Portal, we were heading from our hotel and looking where to have breakfast.
The young girl who took our name was pleasant!
The service was resentful of the tourist. Why do I say that...I over heard of of the mature waitresses talking to a local.
The was ok, nothing special.
The extra long wait, waiting to pay my bill was...classic. seen by all, attended by none. In my three weeks in the great USA, this was the ONLY TIME I was made to feel unwelcomed.
Shame...

Helpful?
Thank Crazysurfkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Recommended- A Classic American Diner”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

If you like classic American diners (red vinyl booths and a counter to belly up to) this is your place. We had a tasty breakfast that was reasonably priced. Try the sourdough toast- it's homemade and quite good.

Tip- get there early. Seating is limited and the place fills up fast.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great little cafe for breakfast”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

My daughter and I had a great breakfast here before heading to Yosemite. Good food, friendly service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ConnieR60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Pine Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sugar Pine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing