We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't arrive at night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 15, 2009

This was an unusual place. Not run like a typical bed and breakfast at all. We had reserved for one night, a Saturday, our 17th anniversary. My wife and I planned to drive up to Yosemite from the Bay Area, spend the day hiking, have a nice dinner, and drive down to the b and b. Called and told that to the innkeeper over the phone.

Well, I got a call before 9PM, as we were finishing dinner, that they were shutting down for the night. I was never told this in advance. I asked, as we were an hour away on narrow roads, if they could leave a key for us. He sighed, and after a pause, said he'd wait up for us.

When we finally arrived exhausted after navigating narrow roads in the dark, we found no signs. I actually walked into the bushes looking for the entrance. My wife proceeded through a carport, around some cars to a closed gate where a small sign said "office." This is when it got interesting. As she entered and walked toward a lighted doorway across a patio, she suddenly disappeared. She screamed hysterically, as she had walked onto a covered pool, completely unmarked. This is when they owners appeared (we could have used their help navigating our way), and as I tried to comfort my wife, the man remarked that this had never happened before. Of course, he said, most people don't arrive after dark. I'm thinking....it's Yosemite...don't people do things during the day?? In any case, we find our room, and I explain that I would have walked into the pool as well, as it was completely unmarked, with no lip, and just looked like a black tarp laid flat upon a patio. A sign, or a barrier of some sort would have been quite helpful.

In any case, we agreed on 9:30 breakfast, due to our late arrival. When we finally emerged (albeit a bit late at 9:50) our hosts were nowhere to be found. There was not note on where to find the coffee, NO SIGNS OF ANY KIND as to where the breakfast room was, and we proceeded to wander out to the deck, overlooking a nice view, to see if there was anything there. There wasn't. Since there were no signs, no one had appeared as we walked around for 10 minutes, and we didn't feel like knocking on random doors trying to find someone,we packed up, left and had a fabulous day in the gold country.

Moral of this story. To the innkeepers...PLEASE....I repeat....PLEASE put up a few signs. Your guests, especially those who arrive at night will feel more welcome, you won't have anyone falling in the pool again, and they will know where to find the breakfast. Right now it seems like you're getting to stay in someone's house....who really doesn't want to have you there. Especially if you arrive after dark.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Speedy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yosemitebedandbkfst, owner at Yosemite Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2009

We feel deeply their disapointment in our place and their experience. We strive to make each persons stay a special experience.

If you read the rest of our reviews, it should be come obvious, that there is another side of the story.

Out of respect for all of our quests we will refrain from telling our side of this story.

Clay and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Yosemite Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 117 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2009

We had a wonderful time! Beaufiful place... after long days of walking, we couldn't wait to go back to the cottage so we could cook dinner and relax just looking at the view!
Un endroit magnifique! Un vrai paradis! Thank you Clay and Joy to share your home with the public!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We went to Yosemite National park and stayed at Clay's and Joy's bed and breakfast. What a nice piece of paradise it is. We (me, my spouse, mother and her husband) were in the cottage. Really private setting by having 2 separate rooms with there own bathroom. All the apliances to cook food and a nice living room to watch tv or just read a book, really clean. But we rarely spent time inside because the outside is so amazing! Wild life (deer, wild turkey and birds) are a common thing. Nice little pation table to sit outside with the BBQ. The montains are your back yard. Nice pool and sitting area in the front to go refresh and relax at the same time. Service was exeptional too!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubba004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

I visited Yosemite Bed & Breakfast with my husband, my mother, and my 7 years old son from Japan.
Clay and Joy was really nice people and they gladly helped us. Their hospitality made our stay really precious experience.
We stayed 2 bedroom cottage and it was perfect. It is spacious, clean, and comfortable and I loved the decor.
Each bed room is decorated differently: one is in lovely country style and other is in stylish Paris style.
They prepare everything so that the guest can spend comfortable time: bathrobes, books, games, candies, coffee, and so on. The kitchen is fully furnished with utensils too.

The environment is awesome and their place is beautifully maintained. There are nice deck which is really good to sit back and relax. At night, we enjoyed starry sky and it was spectacular. In the morning, we could enjoy, over a cup of coffee, watching a deer and hummingbirds and goldenfinches coming for their breakfast. Though it took us nearly an hour drive from Yosemite National Park, this place is worth driving.

Western style full breakfast was good too. Plenty of fruits, egg, potato, sausage, bread is served. Joy's honeybutter and cornbread was really good!.
We treasure the time we spent at Yosemite Bed & Breakfast.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yumanao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We travelled as a family of 6 (2 kids, 2 parents and 2 grandparents) from Denmark.
We had a great time at Yosemite Bed and Breakfast. The place, the cottage, the view, the owners’ kindness and service made our stay to a awesome experience. We definitively recommend it if you are planning to visit Yosemite national park and want a quite place to rest after a hot day in the park.
Best regards
Laura and family

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilienDanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Just went there with my wife, two friends and their two dogs. Stayed in the suite, which consists of two bedrooms, each with its own bath, and a large common area, including kitchen. I believe there are only two other rooms on the property. The setting is beautiful; great views, quiet, lots of gorgeous birds (the mountain bluebird is spectacular; lots of goldfinches, hummingbirds, etc.). A very sweet dog lives there.

Our kitchen came supplied with plenty of cereal, and every utensil we needed to prepare our own meals. Our host was kind enough to supply us with other items (fresh fruit, danishes) despite our not signing up for the breakfast (which is $10 per person more if you are in the suite. I think it is included in the price of the other two rooms).

The layout is like a compound. The rooms surround a small pool (and hammock--yes!). Quite private. We had a lovely deck overlooking the valley with fantastic views. The rooms were very clean, well-kept with many thoughtful touches (like tiny flashlights by each side of the bed). The photos on their website are accurate.

We were only there two days, spending one day rafting the Merced River, which was beautiful and very fun. We also briefly visited Yosemite, about an hour away. The town of Mariposa nearby looks charming, but we didn't check it out. Plenty of other things to do in the area as well, especially outdoor activities.

The only (minor) irritant was an outdoor phone, which was audible throughout the compound. All in all, a great place to stay with very accommodating hosts and a lovely well-maintained setting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Giada M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
20.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
17.9 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
612 reviews
4.6 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
828 reviews
21.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4501 Bridgeport Dr, Mariposa, CA 95338-9439
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range: $169 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Bed and Breakfast is gently hidden down a country lane, nestled in the oaks and pines. It is located just five miles west of the historic gold mining town of Mariposa, and 45 minutes from Yosemite National Park. Leave the city with its noise and lights and enjoy a night where you can gaze at the brilliant stars in the sky and experience a different kind of quiet, only to be ocassionally interrupted by the song of a bird, the chirp of a cricket or the croak of a frog. Wild life watching and our resident hummingbirds remain star attractions. Our facilities include an independent, fully furnished 2 bedroom cottage and 2 individual rooms each with their own private bathroom. The cottage sleeps 2 couples or 4 people very comfortably. It is possible to sleep 6 with the sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yosemite Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel Mariposa
Yosemite b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing