We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place with earl grey tea and a porch swing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous place with earl grey tea and a porch swing!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed there at the end of September, i’m just a little lax in writing my review!

After a full day in Yosemite park and climbing up Vernon Falls we were looking forward to our overnight stay in Mariposa. And what a fabulous place it is ... once we found it. I was worried as we drove along Bridgeport Drive and wondered where on earth we were going ... at least it was daylight. But don’t be put off it’s not that far ... it just feels like it might be. When you get there it is definitely worth the drive. Clay and Joy are some of the loveliest people we’ve met, they are so welcoming and really make you feel at home. We were v lucky as they’d had a cancellation so we got moved into the cottage and had lots of room for our luggage (as we were on a 3 week trip around California). The room we’d booked would also have been fine. The setting of the B&B is fantastic overlooking a valley and there is all sorts of wildlife, including deer which Clay feeds so they come right up to the porch. The breakfast the following day was delicious.

Also, for an evening meal check out Savoury’s. All in all Mariposa is a great place to stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    8
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandia Park, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

As a wildlife biologist, I highly recommend that you scurry or scamper to Yosemite B & B! Once there, you’ll find it difficult to leave, even to view the astonishing beauty of nearby Yosemite National Park. My husband, sister-in-law, and I stayed 3 nights in the cottage, and enjoyed daily viewings of deer, quail, turkey, and a host of hummingbirds. This B & B (complete with a refreshing swimming pool) is a charming and relaxing retreat. Joy and Clay are the consummate hosts; we really enjoyed our breakfasts and the good conversation. I’ve stayed in many B & B’s, especially in the Wild West, and Yosemite B & B ranks among the very best!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a delightful stay here in early November. Rented the 2 bedroom cottage. It was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Really enjoyed the deck as well -- in the mornings and at dusk. Saw deer, quail, wild turkey, and red tail hawks. Would stay there again in a minute. P.S. Breakfasts were delicious!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11Carol1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Looking for somewhere to stay for a visit to Yosemite can be trying and like many others we spent time carefully searching for a bed and breakfast which would suit us - look no further! The hosts Clay and Joy were very welcoming and staying at their B&B was a great choice. The accomodation was spacious, clean and quiet with a few added extras - the sweetie treat jar, not forgetting to mention the deer and hummingbirds adding a sense of peace and tranquility to everywhere. Being invited into such a beautiful home for a lovely breakfast is a great way to start your day. Although this B&B is an hours drive to the park, it is a very scenic drive and really is just part of the experience of Yosemite itself - don't let this put you off. Mariposa is a quaint little place, worth a visit as you are passing through.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

After tons of research on where to stay for our visit to Yosemite we decided on Yosemite B&B in the quaint town of Mariposa. Let me just say our expectations were surpassed!! We arrived to this B&B despite the "Google Map" directions sending us driving down "OLD HWY" which was quite the scary drive however eventually got us to the B&B and we later found there was a much easier and safer way to arrive to this beautiful place. Wow Joy & Clay have sure found a little slice of paradise that they are willing to share with their guests. We stayed in the Sierra room which was all we needed for myself, my husband and our 9 year old son Gavin. The room was very welcoming and large enough for a roll-away bed for our son and the bed was comfortable . There was a TV, Coffee Maker and a nice touch was a jar of M&M's and trail mix. We arrived late afternoon and planned to get up very early in order to avoid the traffic entering Yosemite park the next morning. So we threw on our bathing suits and enjoyed some time in the pool, it was so hot, what a wonderful amenity that was! Because we left so early the next morning we missed the breakfast that Joy prepares... however the next morning we were able to have breakfast with Joy and Clay who really go all out. Homemade french toast with 3 different types of syrup that Clay bragged were homemade by Joy...delish! It was wonderful. We sat at the table enjoying the other guests company and it was quite the experience. One of my favorite things at this B&B was the deck in the back of the house that had to have 100 hummingbirds buzzing around ... it was magical. Not mention their "pet deer" that came up to feed in their back yard each evening, a fawn & a buck! It was an easy drive to the Park and we couldn't imagine there be a better place to stay for a visit to our beautiful National Park! If you decide on Yosemite Bed & Breakfast you will NOT be disappointed. A GREAT BIG THANKS TO JOY & CLAY FOR OUR AMAZING STAY!

Room Tip: Sierra room was perfect for us, however they do offer larger rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkrhiannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This bed and breakfast is worth the hour drive to get to the park. Clay and Joy renewed my faith at staying at a bed and breakfast. The location is quiet and secluded. Every morning and evening wild turkey, deer, doves and quail come to the deck. There are endless hummingbirds to enjoy. Clay and Joy make you feel welcome upon arrival. Our room was clean and spacious. There are hammocks to relax in and seating to enjoy the views. That is just the outside....Joy prepared delicious breakfasts and nothing repeated the three days we were there. We drove from San Francisco and I would recommend GPS, because this location is a little tricky to find. This is definetly a great place to relax before and after a day of traveling.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Ahhhhhhh....That is what we have to say about Clay and Joy’s heavenly Yosemite B&B! If you are looking for the Ritz...it’s not here (thank God!) What you WILL find here are two fantastic people that make you feel at home like family! When we arrived, they invite you into their modest but welcoming home! They are so down to earth, you just want to hug them!
We stayed at their B&B for 3 nights, June 9-12, 2012. The first night we stayed in the main house because the unattached “Sierra” was unavailable. The “Sage Room” was charming, but small, which was ok, because we only spent the night there, then left early for Yosemite for a long day of hiking.
Upon our return, Clay had moved our bags over to the Sierra for us, ready to finish moving in!
The Sierra is quite roomy! We loved the feel of the room, windows could open to get the great cool night breeze! We need to mention that the toiletries in all of the rooms, are of the quality of a fine hotel/spa, and we felt pampered!
We had breakfast 2 of the 3 days that we were there, (due to the early departure the first morning) and it was outstanding! Joy loves to cook (she glows while doing it!) and it was such a treat, with fresh fruit, freshly squeezed juices, omelets and sweet breads! They will visit with you as much as you would like, but not intrusive at all!
On the last day, we had already spent a lot of time in Yosemite, and the temps were soaring into the low 90’s, so we went back mid-afternoon to the B&B, and took advantage of their great pool!
As others have mentioned, their love for nature is obvious! Several humming bird feeders keep the resident birds busy! At night, Clay would turn the lights off on the deck so that we could star gaze, and what a magnificent sight! We cant recall the last time we have seen such a dark night sky, unobstructed by streetlights! (We even saw a HUGE shooting star!)
Yes, it is an hour from either entrance into Yosemite, Yes, it is out in the country, and YES, we would go back in a heartbeat (Only, we would stay longer!)

Room Tip: We loved the Sierra, which was unattached from the main house, quite large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiM8tnce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
17.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,004 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
4.4 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
4.6 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
782 reviews
20.1 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Bed and Breakfast

Property: Yosemite Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4501 Bridgeport Dr, Mariposa, CA 95338-9439
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Bed and Breakfast is gently hidden down a country lane, nestled in the oaks and pines. It is located just five miles west of the historic gold mining town of Mariposa, and 45 minutes from Yosemite National Park. Leave the city with its noise and lights and enjoy a night where you can gaze at the brilliant stars in the sky and experience a different kind of quiet, only to be ocassionally interrupted by the song of a bird, the chirp of a cricket or the croak of a frog. Wild life watching and our resident hummingbirds remain star attractions. Our facilities include an independent, fully furnished 2 bedroom cottage and 2 individual rooms each with their own private bathroom. The cottage sleeps 2 couples or 4 people very comfortably. It is possible to sleep 6 with the sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Yosemite Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel Mariposa
Yosemite b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing