We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great History for our grandkids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariposa Museum and History Center

Mariposa Museum and History Center
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Mariposa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mariposa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great History for our grandkids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our grandchildren really enjoyed visiting the Mariposa Museum and History Center. The information you learn is quite a learning experience for young people.

Helpful?
Thank Worcester14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    39
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A travel to old California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I'm so glad we took the time to visit this museum. One could spend days here looking at all the well organized and informative historical exhibits. The staff is friendly and helpful in sharing the history of the area. When the bus tours are there they run the big stamping mill outside and that is quite something to see. (and hear) You really appreciate the hard work and bravery of the early California pioneers after visiting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LinIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outside the Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Weekend so we couldn't get in, but so much to see on the outside. A lot of history in this town-wish we could've toured the museum when it was open.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WindySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazingly complete collection displayed with creativity and historical context.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Volunteer docent extremely welcoming and knowledgeable about inside displays . Outside displays include complete stamping mills, one operational and interactional small placer gold seeking. Enjoyable to look at these huge cast iron pieces and try to imagine how all the machinery worked back in the day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SRMMNTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Mariposa is a great day trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Spend the day in Mariposa- it is a very cute old town- and the roads into Mariposa are an experience in themselves. We have never spent the night, but it is close to Fresno so go about once each year. The museum is small but informative and totally worth visiting to get a feel for the history of this town.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank FresnoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariposa Museum and History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing