We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pancakes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Red Fox - CLOSED

New Red Fox
Cuisines: Italian, American
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great pancakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Had breakfas here this morning and the pancakes were the best I've had. Light and fluffyand wonderful flavor.

Helpful?
2 Thank wkelly5688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
262 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Middle of the road for Mariposa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

The front desk woman at our motel said Red Fox was smack dab in the middle of high class dining (Savory's) and a low scale burger joint so we decided to give it a shot; she was spot on. The food was good: I had the gnocchi, which was very tender and maybe not so Italian, but definitely homemade and satisfying. I also sampled their chocolate cake for dessert - chocolate heaven (but get some milk!) Overall, good place for a quiet evening out and the waitress was friendly. My only complaint is the outdated 90's era look - the place could use some freshening up.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
“Overprice for what you get”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Order spaghetti / ravioli combo.... pasta did have not enough sauce .....was charged 2.00 for more sauce and no bread with pasta....soup clam chowder good flavor but real watery. Not thick or creamy. Also ordered Lasagna had little between layers (meat or cheese) and bottom was hard from over cooking To much money and quality low. Service was good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very good food, great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Lovely, upscale setting. We had stayed at Yosemite for the sunset, but managed a great drive back so we arrived in town at about 8:30. There were two occupied tables outside, but no one inside, although they were still open.
Both my wife and I had the raviolli special for $11, which was very good.
Chatted with the server, whose mane I don't recall. She was very personable and kept our water pitcher full, as we consumed gallons of water on a hot night.
It looked to be a much more pricey place than it turned out to be, great value.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So-so food, so-so service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Food was hit and miss... Dad's soup was great, ....but I had ordered a salad...
(soup was delivered, and then returned when I told the server he's gotten the order wrong)
...and my salad had been rinsed but not dried, the dressing ended up a soupy mess in the bottom of the plate.
Dad's prawns were fine...as was my chicken parm.....but the vegetables had been grimly overcooked into tastelessness. Had to wave down the waitress to get an iced tea refill... she was too busy chatting with the locals. Apologizing that she was "new" is no excuse for not paying attention to the customers.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mlshanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Red Fox also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing