We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as they think it is”
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Not as good as they think it is”
Reviewed October 26, 2006

We stayed here during our coast-to-coast drive across the US. We prefer chain hotels, but the choice on the way into Yosemite is limited. This hotel has a good location but otherwise it is nothing special. The description of the room on their website said “new” and “you gotta see this room” – well it was certainly not new and I didn’t see what they were so excited about. The bedroom was clean but the bathroom was a bit grotty with a dirty sink and some mould in the shower. We had a great meal at a steak house just over the road. Wireless internet was free and the speed was ok.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank rlpb13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    286
    116
    28
    16
See reviews for
155
265
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stone UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2006

Hotel is close to Yosemite Valley - only 40/50 mins away in a car but with a YART bus link outside it that can take you to the Valley in1hr and10mins and once there you can get around on the free bus service very easily (YART ticket costs $10 each return). The hotel provides you with the basic room for the night but in a great location with all that Mariposa has to offer on it's doorstep(which isn't a great deal other than a couple of good little restaurants opposite). I would have no heitation in recommending this hotel if all you are looking for is somewhere clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kenthewizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2006

What a nightmare. Unfortunately I picked the wrong day for our stay and we were one day early and didn't notice that, until we were on our way to the motel.

We were willing to take a (more expensive) room on that day if they could cancel the wrong Reservation, but the by far unfriendliest receptionist I've ever experienced told me that according to their policy we cannot cancel the reservation and change it.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2006

Found this through Trip Advisor, and would agree with the previous reviews. Clean & better than most roadside motels, it more than met our needs for 3 nights.
There isn't a great deal to do in Mariposa, but we were there to go to Yosemite, which was a 40 minute drive away (a swingbridge has been set up to bypass the slide) & by the time we got back each night, we didn't really want to do much, other than eat & sleep. Great restaurants - the Red Fox & The Charles Street Dinner House, but they do stop serving around 8.30pm.
Would stay here again. Take no notice of the wall notice telling you there is an energy crisis - no where else did we come across this, & think it is a way that they try & keep their costs down.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lois.russ2@sky.... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2006

Everything is ok, nice room, nice location (noisy, due to the traffic).

The only very bad remark: we arrived around noon, we would like to check in. The girl at the reception just said: checking is is not before 3 pm. At 2 she allowed us to get in our room, that was already ready at noon! I do not think that this kind of service matches the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EHTB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2006

We arrived early at the Mariposa Lodge having mis-judged the time it would take us to travel from King's Canyon National Park. Although the receptionist (who I assumed was the owner) was concerned that no rooms might be available, she was very helpful and managed to give us a choice of rooms which we could immediately settle in to.

The room was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The owners obviously take pride in this property and the colour and abundance of flowers in the courtyard and around the building adds to the pleasant ambience of the place.

The pool was much appreciated after a hot dusty day in the town, although it is worth being aware that the pool is small, and faces onto the main road so isn't a place for total relaxation.

The motel is well located in the centre of town, a short walk to shops and restaurants.

If you're heading into Yosemite from here (as we were), the town's 'Pioneer' supermarket is well stocked, and the supermarket's bakery made the nicest chocolate fudge cake we had ever tasted.

  • Liked — Very well maintained.
  • Disliked — Pool by a busy road.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stock up on chocolate fudge cake at the Pioneer supermarket.
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_McQuilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2006

This motel is a pleasant little roadside motel to stay at if you want to go to Yosemite. Bear in mind, there is NOTHING to do in Mariposa, so bring board games or something to entertain yourselves at night! The room was fine except for the fact that the A/C kept going on and off throughout the night making the room somewhat warm in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjpothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
13.5 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,038 reviews
20.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
20.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Property: Mariposa Lodge
Address: 5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariposa Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Mariposa
Americas Best Value Inns Mariposa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing