We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice value near Yosemite”
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I visit Yosemite several times a year, and this is my second choice. Quite often, I just spend the night in the hotel, so what I am looking for is a budget place near the park that has a clean, comfortable room & nice shower. This place fulfills the requirements. It is my second choice, because sometimes I can get the same rates at another hotel in Buck Meadows that I think is better & also have a very nice restaurant next door. But I highly recommend this one too... Does the job with a good value for a good night of sleep after hiking all day in the park!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy_traveler_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
There are newer reviews for Mariposa Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 612 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

Highly suggest you take your business to a different place. If you value service, wifi, strong water pressure and housekeeping service, this is not the place for you.

We stayed here for 2 nights at one of the larger apartments (2 bed, 1 bath) and were disappointed.

- extremely poor internet connectivity. You have better connectivity at Glacier Point than at Mariposa Lodge
- Very poor water pressure in the showers.
- Our room was not made by the housekeeping staff. Bathrooms, beds and trash - everything was as we left it. Motel 6 has better housekeeping staff.
- The website is not reflective of how the overall property looks like. Gardens are nothing much to talk about, the swimming pool is like a puddle of water.

This is an overpriced motel with poor service. I recommend going somewhere else that offers cheaper rates, free breakfast, better internet etc. I am giving one point because the manager apologized to us for our experience and said she will take some corrective action.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rohit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here for two nights as base for visiting Yosemite National Park, which is about an hour's drive from here. This is a basic motel , but well kept, comfortable and for it's location, reasonably priced. The is no laundromat on-site, which would have been useful for those on long trips like ours; that said there is a good laundromat a few minutes drive from the motel and staff will be happy to give directions. We note from other reviews that some people had a problem with noise but we had none. The motel is centrally located in town and there is a good choice of bars, restaurants and an excellent diner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I was here for several nights, so let me list the pros and cons.
PROS:
• Comfortable beds and pillows
• Clean
• Fridge, microwave & coffee pot in room
• Great price ($159/night) compared to inside Yosemite ($250+)
• Spacious room size
• Centrally located to Mariposa and walking distance to dining
• Housekeeping did a great job each day
• During the day, it is quiet here…tucked in off the main street which is busy.

CONS:
• My room had people above me. Most rooms did not. I could hear people walking and getting up to go to the bathroom during the night. I could hear them showering and the fans in their bathrooms.
• I could hear mice or things moving in the walls at night. They were running back and forth. I've had mice in my walls and I know what it sounds like.
• Internet & cell phone service is hard to get here. But it's not the fault of the hotel. I travel with my own wi-fi device and my reception was impossible too. To remedy this, just walk a block in any direction and you'll get cell phone reception.
• Shower head didn't work that great. I could shower, but the water pressure was struggling it seemed.

So, it is a decent value and clean in a location that's about 45-60 minutes outside the west entrance to Yosemite. There are just some quirky issues and they're not horrible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where there isn't a room above you. Most of the units are 1 story. The rooms #101...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honurider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here after leaving Yosemite. The beds were comfortable and clean except for a dead gnat on the sheets. There was a microwave and a fridge in the room. Very spacious rooms! There is no continental breakfast, but there are cafes near by. We had no problem sleeping. Recommend this for people traveling from Yosemite and need a place to sleep.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Snipperton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Clean, spacious, comfortable (bed). Front desk staff were friendly and outgoing. Easy drive to the park. Have stayed before and will stay again. Booked two rooms and our friends were also very pleased.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the cyard parking area ard toward the back of the property...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveMino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Yosemite, for less than the price paid for one night at Yosemite Lodge inside the park. The only drawback is about an hour drive each way, although it is a beautiful route, much alongside the Merced River. The innkeepers are extremely friendly, and spacious room 121 is located in the single-story building. Everything was clean and worked; if we set the refrigerator dial above "1," our water began to freeze, the air conditioner was excellent. There is road noise until evening, but we ran the fan at night and heard no noises. It is a short walk to good restaurants and the small town has many interesting shops and museums.
There is a small, round pool, that we didn't try.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the single-story building, it may be quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bglhvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
13.5 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,151 reviews
20.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
23.0 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Address: 5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range: $109 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariposa Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Mariposa
Americas Best Value Inns Mariposa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing